Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q]OTA service not working

OP 7ftnick

7th July 2014, 10:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Hi.
I have searched the forums but have not found anything useful.

My problem is, the phone does not see that there is an OTA update:




This is what I get. For 4 days now I am getting this.

My Rom is STOCK (RUU_M7_UL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_BrightstarUS_WWE_3.22.1 540.1.exe - from HTCdev site)
HBOOT - Stock
Recovery - STOCK
Root - NO
S-OFF
Bootloader - Unlocked
CID - BS_US001
MID - PN0712000

Anyone else having this problem ?
7th July 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,386
 
3,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7ftnick

Hi.
I have searched the forums but have not found anything useful.

My problem is, the phone does not see that there is an OTA update:




This is what I get. For 4 days now I am getting this.

My Rom is STOCK (RUU_M7_UL_JB43_SENSE50_MR_BrightstarUS_WWE_3.22.1 540.1.exe - from HTCdev site)
HBOOT - Stock
Recovery - STOCK
Root - NO
S-OFF
Bootloader - Unlocked
CID - BS_US001
MID - PN0712000

Anyone else having this problem ?

already had this issue once, I had flashed ota manually. There are 5 ota updates to install from your version to the latest one. Copy your ota.zip files in /sdcard/android/obb folder and aplly them one by one from stock recovery. Make sure to apply them in the correct sequence:
  1. 3.22.1540.1 ---> 4.06.1540.2 (approx. 865 Mb)
  2. 4.06.1540.2 ---> 4.06.1540.3 (approx. 180 Mb)
  3. 4.06.1540.3 ---> 4.19.1540.4 (approx. 313 Mb)
  4. 4.19.1540.4 ---> 4.19.1540.9 (approx. 195 Mb)
  5. 4.19.1540.9 ---> 5.11.1540.9 (approx. 667 Mb)
Last edited by alray; 7th July 2014 at 05:10 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #3  
VaderXI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Hi there

I get a similar problem. My phone recognises there is an update, but it keeps coming back with download unsuccessful. My phone is s-on, unrooted, running Android 4.3. Apart from this recent update it is exactly the same as when it came out the box.

Any ideas how I can sort this, or do it another way?

Thanks in advance

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app


Sent from my HTC One
7th July 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thanks for the help. I was looking for these files. And although I dont know why it does not update, but it is a way to do it.

I have updated the last missing file with a link in case someone bumps into this tread.

3.22.1540.1 ---> 4.06.1540.2 (approx. 865 Mb)
4.06.1540.2 ---> 4.06.1540.3 (approx. 180 Mb)
4.06.1540.3 ---> 4.19.1540.4 (approx. 313 Mb)
4.19.1540.4 ---> 4.19.1540.9 (approx. 195 Mb)
4.19.1540.9 ---> 5.11.1540.9 (approx. 667 Mb)
Last edited by 7ftnick; 7th July 2014 at 09:02 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to 7ftnick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 09:03 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaderXI

Hi there

I get a similar problem. My phone recognises there is an update, but it keeps coming back with download unsuccessful. My phone is s-on, unrooted, running Android 4.3. Apart from this recent update it is exactly the same as when it came out the box.

Any ideas how I can sort this, or do it another way?

Thanks in advance

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app


Sent from my HTC One

I think your storage is full or your internet connection is dodgy.

try diffirent connections 3g(watch your data plan)/Wifi and free up some storage space.

If none of this helps you can dowload an OTA file like I did here, but you version might be different to mine so dont download these above unless you have a developer edition phone.
Last edited by 7ftnick; 7th July 2014 at 09:05 PM.
7th July 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #6  
VaderXI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Thanks for the info, but no joy. It says the system update is corrupted. Not sure what to do but contact htc?

Sent from my HTC One
7th July 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,386
 
3,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaderXI

Thanks for the info, but no joy. It says the system update is corrupted. Not sure what to do but contact htc?

Sent from my HTC One

in most cases, corrupted update = bad download. Delete the ota.zip and download again with a good connection.
7th July 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #8  
VaderXI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Don't think there's anything wrong with my connection, but willing to try it again. How do I delete the zip file. Got a file manager, but can't find an ota file in there.

Thanks

Sent from my HTC One
7th July 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #9  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,386
 
3,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaderXI

Don't think there's anything wrong with my connection, but willing to try it again. How do I delete the zip file. Got a file manager, but can't find an ota file in there.

Thanks

Sent from my HTC One

ota file should be in the download folder
9th July 2014, 10:23 PM   |  #10  
VaderXI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Thanks all for your help. Managed to sort it by clearing data in updater in apps. Finally on sense 6!

Sent from my HTC One

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes