Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,760 Members 47,963 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] OUCH! Viper One S / HTC One S :(

Tip us?
 
WaxyChicken
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2014
Tutorial [Q] OUCH! Viper One S / HTC One S :(

help

Alright, so my step-son boffed my wife's phone when he tried to root? upgrade? god-knows-what to it.

i've been fighting with it for over a week now. i have made SOME progress getting out of soft-brick
but i seriously am banging my head and need help.
This is my first time trying to deal with a phone. so please, talk to me like i'm 4 years old.

(the good news? yes, i've been using the google... and a lot of aspirin!)
Here is where i'm at now:

PC:
Win 7

Hardware:
Phone: HTC One S
SD Slot: NO
Carrier SIMM slot: Yes
Carrier: straight-talk simm, T-Mobile phone

HBOOT screen:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** UNLOCKED ***
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.15.000
RADIO-1.13.50.05.31
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Dec 14 2012, 17:10:57:-1

Hboot with Fastboot installed

Bios? options:
Recovery
Factory Reset
Clear Storage
Sim Lock
Image CRC
Show Barcode

Recovery Mode:
Team Win Recovery Project V2.7.1.0
OpenRecovery-TWRP-2.7.1.0-fille_u.img

ADB, ADB-Sidebar, Fastboot all are getting recognized.

I downloaded and installed Viper_One_S_3.1.3.zip

instillation went fine.
it was freezing on the load screen (after the animated viper logo completed it just stays there.)

did more googling and found out i need to copy the .img files to a boot partiton:

from the viper_one/kernel folder i fastbooted the .IMG

fastboot flash boot boot_hboot2.15.img
(did hboot2.15 instead of hboot2.16 because it matches the hboot in the bios screen?)

no good.

i still have full access to adb, adb-sideload, twerp, etc...
i just can't get Viper One S to run.

(NOTE: the VenomRoms website said nothing about taking the boot .IMG out and fastbooting that separate. i deduced that from another thread. am i wrong? )

While i wait for help i will be toying with trying to make ViperOneS v3.2.0 work.
 
zelendel
Old
#2  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Thanks Meter 11,111
Posts: 14,528
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Watching from the Shadows

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaxyChicken View Post
help

Alright, so my step-son boffed my wife's phone when he tried to root? upgrade? god-knows-what to it.

i've been fighting with it for over a week now. i have made SOME progress getting out of soft-brick
but i seriously am banging my head and need help.
This is my first time trying to deal with a phone. so please, talk to me like i'm 4 years old.

(the good news? yes, i've been using the google... and a lot of aspirin!)
Here is where i'm at now:

PC:
Win 7

Hardware:
Phone: HTC One S
SD Slot: NO
Carrier SIMM slot: Yes
Carrier: straight-talk simm, T-Mobile phone

HBOOT screen:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** UNLOCKED ***
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.15.000
RADIO-1.13.50.05.31
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Dec 14 2012, 17:10:57:-1

Hboot with Fastboot installed

Bios? options:
Recovery
Factory Reset
Clear Storage
Sim Lock
Image CRC
Show Barcode

Recovery Mode:
Team Win Recovery Project V2.7.1.0
OpenRecovery-TWRP-2.7.1.0-fille_u.img

ADB, ADB-Sidebar, Fastboot all are getting recognized.

I downloaded and installed Viper_One_S_3.1.3.zip

instillation went fine.
it was freezing on the load screen (after the animated viper logo completed it just stays there.)

did more googling and found out i need to copy the .img files to a boot partiton:

from the viper_one/kernel folder i fastbooted the .IMG

fastboot flash boot boot_hboot2.15.img
(did hboot2.15 instead of hboot2.16 because it matches the hboot in the bios screen?)

no good.

i still have full access to adb, adb-sideload, twerp, etc...
i just can't get Viper One S to run.

(NOTE: the VenomRoms website said nothing about taking the boot .IMG out and fastbooting that separate. i deduced that from another thread. am i wrong? )

While i wait for help i will be toying with trying to make ViperOneS v3.2.0 work.
You may need to soff the device for it to boot.





If hard work pays off then easy work is worthless
SearchFu
Never Ask someone to do something your not willing to at least try to do yourself.
"Gotham is the work of a madman"- NunHugger Current Nexus 5-12 Nightly


 
clsA
Old
(Last edited by clsA; 24th August 2014 at 10:49 PM.)
#3  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 964
Posts: 3,610
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaxyChicken View Post
help

Alright, so my step-son boffed my wife's phone when he tried to root? upgrade? god-knows-what to it.

i've been fighting with it for over a week now. i have made SOME progress getting out of soft-brick
OpenRecovery-TWRP-2.7.1.0-fille_u.img

ADB, ADB-Sidebar, Fastboot all are getting recognized.

I downloaded and installed Viper_One_S_3.1.3.zip

instillation went fine.
it was freezing on the load screen (after the animated viper logo completed it just stays there.)


(NOTE: the VenomRoms website said nothing about taking the boot .IMG out and fastbooting that separate. i deduced that from another thread. am i wrong? ) Yeah this is not needed normally
This is the htc one m7 area you may have better luck here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-one-s

Quote:
4. How do I install the rom?!

ViperOneS Install Instructions

Download the the latest ViperOneS full ROM zip from the download section
Place the file somewhere on your phone storage.
Confirm the MD5 on the download page matches the MD5 of the file on your phone (ES File Explorer will show the MD5 of the file)
Reboot to Recovery (we recommend TWRP 2.6.3.0 for users on 2.15 HBoot. Users on 2.16 HBoot MUST use the modified 2.6.1.0 TWRP recovery from @LlabTooFeR)
Backup current ROM if desired
Install ROM and select wipe during aroma install if coming from another base or rom
Reboot and Enjoy
What I gather from the instructions, it's the same as a HTC One. You don't have to flash the boot.img separately.
But it is Critical you use the exact recovery they call for or else it won't boot. So go find and flash that and you should be good. also do the Wipe they suggest.

What happens with different versions of recovery is scripting is handled differently in different versions and the Developer may use a Script that's not handled correctly in a different version of TWRP ( thus the need for a specific version )
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
WaxyChicken
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel View Post
You may need to soff the device for it to boot.
nope. didn't need to S-Off it.
i don't know what i did - maybe i just did things in a different order - but it's working now.
fight with it for over a weak - feel hopeless.
ask for help and things just suddenly work.
go figure.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes