Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can't S-ON?

OP Jikstah

1st July 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #11  
Jikstah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 27
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

I'm assuming you used Guru ROM 2.24.980.2 ? i made a quick search but came up empty on the firmware for that. you could pull it from the OTA file if you find it; within the OTA.ZIP is another firmware.zip <- that's signed original firmware

Rejoice! For I have found the exact firmware for the ROM - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=438

Google is truly a wonderful thing, and you Mr. nkk71.

The Following User Says Thank You to Jikstah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #12  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,108
 
6,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jikstah

Rejoice! For I have found the exact firmware for the ROM - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=438

Google is truly a wonderful thing, and you Mr. nkk71.

Nice find

don't forget to flash it twice:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
fastboot reboot-bootloader


and since firmware & ROM are 2.xx (hboot 1.54), going from S-Off to S-On should be safe
2nd July 2014, 03:24 AM   |  #13  
Jikstah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 27
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Nice find

don't forget to flash it twice:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
fastboot reboot-bootloader


and since firmware & ROM are 2.xx (hboot 1.54), going from S-Off to S-On should be safe

Oh jeez, here we go. I put the firmware.zip into my sd card, pulled up a cmd, entered rebootRUU mode, and tried to flash firmware zip.
And...

C:\adb>fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
sending 'zip' (28294 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.210s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) checking model ID...
(bootloader) checking custom ID...
FAILED (remote: 42 custom id check fail)
finished. total time: 2.701s


What's wrong with my CID? I even changed it from VODAP021 to HTC__039 to see if it would run, still the same error.. :|

EDIT: Okay so I SuperCID'ed, it worked however my bootloader is still 1.55? wut.

Don't tell me I need an unlocked bootloader, I need an unlocked bootloader right? -_-
I believe you said HTCdev won't unlock it if I had a non-matching firmware to my CID/MID? ugh.

EDIT: NOPE, no luck either with an unlocked bootloader - same result.
Last edited by Jikstah; 2nd July 2014 at 03:49 AM.
2nd July 2014, 01:04 PM   |  #14  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,108
 
6,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jikstah

Oh jeez, here we go. I put the firmware.zip into my sd card, pulled up a cmd, entered rebootRUU mode, and tried to flash firmware zip.
And...

C:\adb>fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
sending 'zip' (28294 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.210s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) checking model ID...
(bootloader) checking custom ID...
FAILED (remote: 42 custom id check fail)
finished. total time: 2.701s


What's wrong with my CID? I even changed it from VODAP021 to HTC__039 to see if it would run, still the same error.. :|

EDIT: Okay so I SuperCID'ed, it worked however my bootloader is still 1.55? wut.

Don't tell me I need an unlocked bootloader, I need an unlocked bootloader right? -_-
I believe you said HTCdev won't unlock it if I had a non-matching firmware to my CID/MID? ugh.

EDIT: NOPE, no luck either with an unlocked bootloader - same result.



You do realize those errors/safe-guards are actually saving you!!

There's nothing wrong with your CID, so set it back to what it's supposed to be.


And the reason it's not working (actually it is), you are flashing the wrong firmware.zip, the one you are flashing is 28294 KB (probably a modded one), whereas the one you should be flashing (from the link you posted earlier) is 41197KB.

now put the correct firmware.zip in your adb/fastboot folder and flash it, fastboot doesn't use anything from your sdcard, it uses the files on your PC.
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 04:41 AM   |  #15  
Jikstah's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 27
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71



You do realize those errors/safe-guards are actually saving you!!

There's nothing wrong with your CID, so set it back to what it's supposed to be.


And the reason it's not working (actually it is), you are flashing the wrong firmware.zip, the one you are flashing is 28294 KB (probably a modded one), whereas the one you should be flashing (from the link you posted earlier) is 41197KB.

now put the correct firmware.zip in your adb/fastboot folder and flash it, fastboot doesn't use anything from your sdcard, it uses the files on your PC.

Gosh, you are too good. This is definitely the big break.

But nope, freakin' adb decides to bail on me and my device can no longer be detected. WTF?! What have I done to deserve such trouble.. -_-
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes