Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Preproduction HTC One hardware -- No Camera!

OP mattchoo

30th October 2014, 03:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Hello there,

This is likely a strange scenario. I got a preproduction HTC One M7 from a friend who works at a wireless carrier... it was just an extra phone that he had since I had lost mine.

It is preproduction hardware... so the exterior looks nothing like the normal HTC Ones. But all the internal guts are the same... except for the camera! It does not have a rear-facing camera! So when I got the phone, if I opened the camera app, it would only open and use the front facing camera. Ok, no biggie, it was a free phone after all!

But then I started to get creative, and unlocked, rooted, and installed Cyanogenmod on the phone. Interestingly enough, there was no camera app on the phone. So I went and downloaded Google Camera. And now... when I open this camera app (or any of the dozen that I've tried), I get an error saying "Camera Error. Can't connect to the camera.", and then the app closes. I'm assuming that is because it is trying to open the app with starting up the rear camera. I tried finding an app that might only open the front camera, but couldn't find an app that worked.

Any ideas? Unfortunately, while I made a Nandroid of my previous stock ROM, I didn't realize that it would get blown away when I rooted and installed Cyanogenmod (i.e. the Nandroid was sitting in the /sdcard folder). So I can't even get back to a version of firmware where the camera works!

Thanks,
mattchoo
5th November 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Any one out there who can help??

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app
5th November 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #3  
AArga's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchoo

Any one out there who can help??

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app

Reflashing your stock rom..
5th November 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #4  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattchoo

Any one out there who can help??

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app

See this response to your other post: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=30
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes