Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,429 Members 54,753 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One M7 OTA Sense 6 Stuck

Tip us?
 
Yaaomo
Old
(Last edited by Yaaomo; 17th July 2014 at 12:30 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2013
Unhappy [Q] HTC One M7 OTA Sense 6 Stuck

Hello community,

first of all i want to say that i am now trying to fix my problems since the past 10 hours!

So here it is:

I bought a new HTC One M7 on last saturday. After i done the first steps i checked if there were updates available. So it was. I updated it and after it was done i checked if there is another update. But it wasnt.
So i thought this was the latest and newest firmware and i started to use it.
After a few days i wanted to have sweep2wake. I rooted my device and flashed the Bulletproof 14.2 kernel which is close to stock but with sweep2wake.
Btw i flashed the TWRP recovery.
All went perfect on first try.
On saturday i ordered a case for my HTC One M7 from ROCK with the window on top (which came on monday). I read that i need Sense 6 in order to get it work. But i was on Sense 5.5. I wondered at this point because i updated it on saturday to the latest version. So to make sure i checked it again. And yes there was actually a update to sense 6. But now the problem was that i rooted my device and got custom kernel/recovery. This was a problem.
So first i tried to get back to Stock recovery and relock the phone before updating. (Btw i forgot to get the stock kernel back on). But as i relocked the device, it got stuck in bootloader. Always booting in bootloader. After many trys i got it back to unlock and than i tried to install the update (still with custom kernel). It failed!

Than i thought that i just could restore my backup ( backup was made before i rooted my device with adb) but this doesnt help to install the OTA Update.
I also tried to restore my nandroid backup from TWRP but the problem was, after i restored the ADB backup the nandroid update wasnt on my device. But i saved it on my PC. Now the problem was that i couldnt copy any files over to my HTC M7!

I tried so many things to get it back to work but its still not working. So i cant copy over my nandroid backup or other things.
Adb push doesnt work too.

Next problem is that i cant find original RUU for my device.

Here is what my bootloaderscreen says:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** UNLOCKED ***
M7_UL PUT SHIP S-ON RH
HBOOT-4A.26.3263.18
OpenDSP-v32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB
Apr 21 2014, 15:48:24. 0


My firmware (looked up in settings) is: 4.20.111.21
CID: T-MOB101 DE

And there is NO RUU for this device on the internet. This made me sad. Btw after the restores the Bulletproof kernel is still on device.
So i hope you can help me get this Sense 6 OTA Update on this Phone and help to get back the ability to copy things from my pc to my phone.

If you need data from me just post the needed ones.

Now the only thing i can do is wait for your helpful answers.


Sincerely YaaOmo
 
majmoz
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaaomo View Post
Hello community,

Than i thought that i just could restore my backup ( backup was made before i rooted my device with adb) but this doesnt help to install the OTA Update.
I also tried to restore my nandroid backup from TWRP but the problem was, after i restored the ADB backup the nandroid update wasnt on my device. But i saved it on my PC. Now the problem was that i couldnt copy any files over to my HTC M7!

I tried so many things to get it back to work but its still not working. So i cant copy over my nandroid backup or other things.
Adb push doesnt work too.


Here is what my bootloaderscreen says:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** UNLOCKED ***
M7_UL PUT SHIP S-ON RH
HBOOT-4A.26.3263.18
OpenDSP-v32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB
Apr 21 2014, 15:48:24. 0


My firmware (looked up in settings) is: 4.20.111.21
CID: T-MOB101 DE

And there is NO RUU for this device on the internet. This made me sad. Btw after the restores the Bulletproof kernel is still on device.
So i hope you can help me get this Sense 6 OTA Update on this Phone and help to get back the ability to copy things from my pc to my phone.
Follow this post on what to do when you don't have an OS. This will help you get your phone working and talking to your computer. When you get this up and running, we can then address updating your phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Yaaomo
Old
(Last edited by Yaaomo; 17th July 2014 at 01:29 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz View Post
Follow this post on what to do when you don't have an OS. This will help you get your phone working and talking to your computer. When you get this up and running, we can then address updating your phone.
Which ROM? I dont have Stock ROM and i don't know where i can get it.

And btw i tried to adb push (like i said?) in TWRP after 20 mins i canceled it. Do i need to wait longer?

And my system IS running but not on Sense 6. Sorry if i didnt mention it.
 
majmoz
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaaomo View Post
Which ROM? I dont have Stock ROM and i don't know where i can get it.

And btw i tried to adb push (like i said?) in TWRP after 20 mins i canceled it. Do i need to wait longer?

And my system IS running but not on Sense 6. Sorry if i didnt mention it.
The thought on the ROM was to put your backup that is on your PC onto your phone. You say your system is running but is it communicating with your phone? If it is then you should be able to run both ADB and FASTBOOT commands. If not, then you might need to install new HTC drivers.

@djtrex If you have a nandroid backup of your stock rom 4.20.111.21 could you post it for Yaaomo? Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Yaaomo
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz View Post
The thought on the ROM was to put your backup that is on your PC onto your phone. You say your system is running but is it communicating with your phone? If it is then you should be able to run both ADB and FASTBOOT commands. If not, then you might need to install new HTC drivers.

@djtrex If you have a nandroid backup of your stock rom 4.20.111.21 could you post it for Yaaomo? Thanks!
ATM i CAN use adb and fastboot but i cannot plugg it into my PC and copy paste files (for example mp3 or zip or whatever).

What do you mean with if my system is communicating with my phone?
 
majmoz
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 235
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaaomo View Post
ATM i CAN use adb and fastboot but i cannot plugg it into my PC and copy paste files (for example mp3 or zip or whatever).

What do you mean with if my system is communicating with my phone?
When you plug your phone to the computer, in Device Manager you should see Android USB Devices -> My HTC. If you don't then you need to re-install your HTC drivers. If that doesn't work then you will need an OTG cable so you can hook up an USB drive to your phone to put files on it.
 
Yaaomo
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz View Post
When you plug your phone to the computer, in Device Manager you should see Android USB Devices -> My HTC. If you don't then you need to re-install your HTC drivers. If that doesn't work then you will need an OTG cable so you can hook up an USB drive to your phone to put files on it.
Okay now im confused

Because now, i dont know why, i suddenly can copy things over o.O dunno what happend i did nothing. The device is in device manager. So now i only need to get that OTA Update working.

But i will go sleep now. Hope you can help me tomorrow (today) again. Would appreciate it.

Greets YaaOmo
 
scifitrekkie
Old
#8  
scifitrekkie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 194
Posts: 567
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Area 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaaomo View Post
Okay now im confused

Because now, i dont know why, i suddenly can copy things over o.O dunno what happend i did nothing. The device is in device manager. So now i only need to get that OTA Update working.

But i will go sleep now. Hope you can help me tomorrow (today) again. Would appreciate it.

Greets YaaOmo
To take OTA's you need a couple of things
1. Stock ROM
2. Stock Recovery
3. And I believe a locked bootloader.

You cannot have anything custom at all.

If you didn't take an nandroid backup of your stock rom you will have to try and find one on the web, or maybe via GURU1.

Install stock ROM, flash stock recovery through fastboot.. once flashed fastboot erase cache, relock your bootloader then you should be back 100% stock and should b able now to get OTA's.

good luck
 
coolshritz
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifitrekkie View Post
To take OTA's you need a couple of things
1. Stock ROM
2. Stock Recovery
3. And I believe a locked bootloader.

You cannot have anything custom at all.

If you didn't take an nandroid backup of your stock rom you will have to try and find one on the web, or maybe via GURU1.

Install stock ROM, flash stock recovery through fastboot.. once flashed fastboot erase cache, relock your bootloader then you should be back 100% stock and should b able now to get OTA's.

good luck

WIth all the conversation above, I think its now simple. Just do this in the order.
1. Copy the nandroid backup you did before rooting on the Phone, in the exact location.
2. Now boot into recovery, and restore the backup. I suppose this will also restore the stock kernel. reboot the device and check in the settings ->about. If not, find the stock kernel in the forums and flash that through recovery.
3. flash the stock recovery. (you'll easily find in the forums).
4. lastly lock the bootloader.

reboot, find for updates and update your phone. It will happen smoothly.
 
Yaaomo
Old
(Last edited by Yaaomo; 17th July 2014 at 02:18 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifitrekkie View Post
To take OTA's you need a couple of things
1. Stock ROM
2. Stock Recovery
3. And I believe a locked bootloader.

You cannot have anything custom at all.

If you didn't take an nandroid backup of your stock rom you will have to try and find one on the web, or maybe via GURU1.

Install stock ROM, flash stock recovery through fastboot.. once flashed fastboot erase cache, relock your bootloader then you should be back 100% stock and should b able now to get OTA's.

good luck

Hi, first of all thanks for your answer. I know the required things to do OTAs. But again i dont know why, i can see my phone in device manager and i can go on sdcard but i cant copy things over. It says "Copy pprozess canceled".
I tried to restore my nandroid backup with OTG. It was successful but i got the custom Bulletproof kernel. And yesterday i searched (like i said) for Stock ROM/Kernel but it doesnt exist for my device. So thats a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolshritz
WIth all the conversation above, I think its now simple. Just do this in the order.
1. Copy the nandroid backup you did before rooting on the Phone, in the exact location.
2. Now boot into recovery, and restore the backup. I suppose this will also restore the stock kernel. reboot the device and check in the settings ->about. If not, find the stock kernel in the forums and flash that through recovery.
3. flash the stock recovery. (you'll easily find in the forums).
4. lastly lock the bootloader.

reboot, find for updates and update your phone. It will happen smoothly.
Thanks for your answer too. But like i wrote above, i now cant copy my backup over. And i just dont know why :S
And again for my device, i couldnt find neither Stock ROM nor Stock Kernel.

Greets Yaaomo

EDIT: I tried to copy over via OTG but the copy porcess is canceled too. Is the sdcard broken? What can i do?

EDIT2: I wiped dat and internal storage. Now i can copy over things again.

EDIT3: I did the nandroid backup but the kernel is still not Stock. And i cant find one on the internet.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes