Post Reply

Stuck on 4.1.2 can't update to Sense 6/4.4, Three UK Unlocked Stock ROM

OP Anzzle

11th August 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Hi everyone,

I've just bought an used HTC One M7 that was locked to Three UK but I managed to get it unlocked via a code from ebay. The phone is on 4.1.2 and the recovery mode shows S-ON, LOCKED so I'm guessing its all stock. The CID is H3G_001 and the OTA updater keeps saying that I'm already on the latest update. The phone isn't rooted either. I've already tried resetting to factory settings but that didn't help. I've had a look at RUU's but couldn't find anything for Three UK/H3G_001.

Could anyone tell me how I could get the Sense 6 update? I've tried clearing the data/cache in the updater and google services framework but still nothing. I don't want to tamper with the bootloader etc if possible.

Thanks,
Anthony
12th August 2014, 12:05 AM   |  #2  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 251
 
925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anzzle

Hi everyone,

I've just bought an used HTC One M7 that was locked to Three UK but I managed to get it unlocked via a code from ebay. The phone is on 4.1.2 and the recovery mode shows S-ON, LOCKED so I'm guessing its all stock. The CID is H3G_001 and the OTA updater keeps saying that I'm already on the latest update. The phone isn't rooted either. I've already tried resetting to factory settings but that didn't help. I've had a look at RUU's but couldn't find anything for Three UK/H3G_001.

Could anyone tell me how I could get the Sense 6 update? I've tried clearing the data/cache in the updater and google services framework but still nothing. I don't want to tamper with the bootloader etc if possible.

Thanks,
Anthony

Updates are dependent on the carrier for carrier locked phones. It is possible that H3G has not updated their phone. A lot of people will S-OFF their phone to change their CID & MID to get the updates quicker by going to either the Int'l (.401) version or the DevEd (.1540) version which are updated directly from HTC. Your version is .771. For carrier updates, you must remain on the carrier's network to receive them. Check with H3G to see if an update is available and when or if you can expect to receive it.
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2014, 02:38 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Updates are dependent on the carrier for carrier locked phones. It is possible that H3G has not updated their phone. A lot of people will S-OFF their phone to change their CID & MID to get the updates quicker by going to either the Int'l (.401) version or the DevEd (.1540) version which are updated directly from HTC. Your version is .771. For carrier updates, you must remain on the carrier's network to receive them. Check with H3G to see if an update is available and when or if you can expect to receive it.

Hey there, thanks for your reply.

I've had a look around the internet and I've found the OTA update zip for my phone from 4.1.2 to 4.2 (1.28.771 to 2.24.771), then another one OTA zip for 4.2 to 4.3 (2.24.771 to 3.62.771). However the issue now is, I can't flash it using the stock recovery as I have S-ON I believe and it throws back an "invalid operation" error when I try to apply an update via internal storage. I'm trying to get S-OFF but I'm not having any luck at the moment, as ideally I don't want to mess with the bootloader. I'll give it another go tomorrow, given up for tonight.

The phone is for my brother and he's fine with 4.1.2/Sense 5 tbh but would like Sense 6 features if possible.
12th August 2014, 05:16 AM   |  #4  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anzzle

Hey there, thanks for your reply.

I've had a look around the internet and I've found the OTA update zip for my phone from 4.1.2 to 4.2 (1.28.771 to 2.24.771), then another one OTA zip for 4.2 to 4.3 (2.24.771 to 3.62.771). However the issue now is, I can't flash it using the stock recovery as I have S-ON I believe and it throws back an "invalid operation" error when I try to apply an update via internal storage. I'm trying to get S-OFF but I'm not having any luck at the moment, as ideally I don't want to mess with the bootloader. I'll give it another go tomorrow, given up for tonight.

The phone is for my brother and he's fine with 4.1.2/Sense 5 tbh but would like Sense 6 features if possible.

if you don't want to mess with the bootloader then try Sunshine to s-off: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53624322
12th August 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #5  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 251
 
925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anzzle

Hey there, thanks for your reply.

I've had a look around the internet and I've found the OTA update zip for my phone from 4.1.2 to 4.2 (1.28.771 to 2.24.771), then another one OTA zip for 4.2 to 4.3 (2.24.771 to 3.62.771). However the issue now is, I can't flash it using the stock recovery as I have S-ON I believe and it throws back an "invalid operation" error when I try to apply an update via internal storage. I'm trying to get S-OFF but I'm not having any luck at the moment, as ideally I don't want to mess with the bootloader. I'll give it another go tomorrow, given up for tonight.

The phone is for my brother and he's fine with 4.1.2/Sense 5 tbh but would like Sense 6 features if possible.

OTA update is flashed in stock recovery. Here is a post explaining the OTA process. This post might explain what you are missing for the OTA to work. I think you must select from "internal storage" instead of "sdcard" when you install the OTA.
12th August 2014, 12:23 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

OTA update is flashed in stock recovery. Here is a post explaining the OTA process. This post might explain what you are missing for the OTA to work. I think you must select from "internal storage" instead of "sdcard" when you install the OTA.

I've tried following the process but it just gives a "Invalid Operation" message when ever I select from Internal Storage. I'm losing patience with this, why can't OTA just work.

Thanks for your help anyways.
12th August 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,196
 
3,094 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anzzle

I've tried following the process but it just gives a "Invalid Operation" message when ever I select from Internal Storage. I'm losing patience with this, why can't OTA just work.

Thanks for your help anyways.

you can't manually flash ota with a s-on phone, only s-off.
12th August 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #8  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 251
 
925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anzzle

I've tried following the process but it just gives a "Invalid Operation" message when ever I select from Internal Storage. I'm losing patience with this, why can't OTA just work.

Thanks for your help anyways.

Try following this post. Make sure that your version number matches exactly the second version in the file name. Change the name to "update.zip" and place in the SDCARD.
Last edited by majmoz; 12th August 2014 at 04:45 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes