FORUMS

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more

Android Wear Close to Running on Samsung Gear 2

Android is an OS that can sometimes be ported to run on devices not designed to … more

The Curious Case Of The Flash Sale

What do the horses in the Xiaomi stable, notably the Mi 3, Mi 4, Redmi 1S, Redmi 2 & Redmi Note … more

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Stuck in bootloop, can't enter Bootloader after unlock

21st August 2014, 12:21 AM |#11  
iElvis's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Modville
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHDx

I left it there for about an hour, no change.

There also isn't anything to boot into, I wiped /system/ and /data/ before unlocking the bootloader.
I was trying to get S-Off and it didn't work with CyanogenMod, so I locked the bootloader and tried to install an RUU and of course, that doesn't work if you don't have S-Off, so I wanted to unlock it again and install a sense based ROM after that, but that's where I got stuck in this bootloop.
In retrospect, it probably was really stupid to wipe those partitions before. Not sure what I was thinking at the time :/

I'll try Ubuntu tomorrow and I'll try it with a brighter light, maybe that works. Otherwise I just have to send it in. Worst that could happen is that they somehow get into the bootloader and discover that it says Tampered, but at that point they can just send it back and with a working bootloader I can fix it myself.

Sorry, I was thinking that if you ran it down, then plugged it in, you might be able to get into the bootloader.
 
 
21st August 2014, 12:22 AM |#12  
HeavyHDx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Battery's full right now, do you think it will get empty over night?
21st August 2014, 12:28 AM |#13  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHDx

Battery's full right now, do you think it will get empty over night?

hold the power plus volume down for about 20 seconds when the phone shuts off and comes back on continue holding the buttons till it goes off for a second time. Then let go of power and continue to hold volume down. This has got me into the bootloader many time's. Do this in a well lit room or under a lamp.
21st August 2014, 12:30 AM |#14  
iElvis's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Modville
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHDx

Battery's full right now, do you think it will get empty over night?

If it's stuck on the white screen, yeah that should run it down pretty quickly.

But I'm thinking now this might be a bit risky. It will stay on until the battery dies completely instead of shutting down properly. Normally, the system will shut down with a little bit of charge left because if the battery goes completely dead, it may not be able to restart.

I'd try your other ideas first, and if you're ready to return it, give this a shot.
21st August 2014, 12:46 AM |#15  
HeavyHDx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

hold the power plus volume down for about 20 seconds when the phone shuts off and comes back on continue holding the buttons till it goes off for a second time. Then let go of power and continue to hold volume down. This has got me into the bootloader many time's. Do this in a well lit room or under a lamp.

If I release the power-button when the screen turns black the second time, it just stays off.

It's almost as if the volume-buttons aren't recognized at all :/

@iElvis okay then that'll be my last resort.
21st August 2014, 12:51 AM |#16  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHDx

If I release the power-button when the screen turns black the second time, it just stays off.

It's almost as if the volume-buttons aren't recognized at all :/

@iElvis okay then that'll be my last resort.

well running the battery dead will not be any different than the shutdown you just did. did you continue to hold volume down and hit the power again after the shut down ? is the usb plugged in this hole time or no?
21st August 2014, 12:53 AM |#17  
HeavyHDx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

well running the battery dead will not be any different than the shutdown you just did. did you continue to hold volume down and hit the power again after the shut down ?

Yep, I held the button all the time, tried waiting longer and everything, I have already played around with combinations a fair bit before posting this, nothing seemed to work.

Why can't HTC have something like USB Jigs? :/ It's so convenient to just plug this thing in and be in download-mode, regardless how f*cked up your software is.
21st August 2014, 12:56 AM |#18  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,685
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHDx

Yep, I held the button all the time, tried waiting longer and everything, I have already played around with combinations a fair bit before posting this, nothing seemed to work.

Why can't HTC have something like USB Jigs? :/ It's so convenient to just plug this thing in and be in download-mode, regardless how f*cked up your software is.

ok I wish you luck
21st August 2014, 12:57 AM |#19  
HeavyHDx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

ok I wish you luck

Thanks I just got this thing back from a 2 week repair because the volume-buttons wouldn't work, barely had it a day and now I can send it back again My own fault, but still annoying...
2nd September 2014, 04:20 PM |#20  
HeavyHDx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHDx

Thanks I just got this thing back from a 2 week repair because the volume-buttons wouldn't work, barely had it a day and now I can send it back again My own fault, but still annoying...

Update:

The place where I sent it to just messaged me this:

http://imgur.com/npdyLgO

I'm curious, how did they manage to get the bootloader working again? Is there another method for getting into the bootloader, other than pressing the buttons?

They want 218€ for fixing it (lol) so I obviously told them to send it back without fixing it, after all I can do that myself if the bootloader works.


Edit:

just got it back, Bootloader works now.
Last edited by HeavyHDx; 6th September 2014 at 10:15 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes