Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,688 Members 39,796 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Variant system version

Tip us?
 
Lomax01
Old
(Last edited by Lomax01; 20th August 2014 at 06:12 PM.) Reason: Missing information
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Default Variant system version

Hi All

I had my M7 HTC One rooted with s-off running a GPE from mike1976 and all was good with the world.

I'm getting a new phone so am passing this to my mum and decided it would be better for her with everything stock so that she can get updates.

Anyway, I am having huge issues. The phone is back to stock running 4.3 but I cannot run the update as I get the variant system version issue.

I used a Guru Reset rom for the M7, although I can't remember exactly which one. However, I made sure it was for the correct CID and MID.

Getvar gives me this:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.13.3231.27
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT35FW9*****
(bootloader) imei: 354436052******
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: htc__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4287mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT

I can see the it's not showing any information for version-main. Any ideas why this would be?

Can anyone offer any advice on how I can try to resolved this?

Many thanks
 
alray
Old
#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,094
Posts: 2,832
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lomax01 View Post
Hi All

I had my M7 HTC One rooted with s-off running a GPE from mike1976 and all was good with the world.

I'm getting a new phone so am passing this to my mum and decided it would be better for her with everything stock so that she can get updates.

Anyway, I am having huge issues. The phone is back to stock running 4.3 but I cannot run the update as I get the variant system version issue.

I used a Guru Reset rom for the M7, although I can't remember exactly which one. However, I made sure it was for the correct CID and MID.

Getvar gives me this:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.13.3231.27
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: HT35FW9*****
(bootloader) imei: 354436052******
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0710000
(bootloader) cidnum: htc__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4287mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT

I can see the it's not showing any information for version-main. Any ideas why this would be?

Can anyone offer any advice on how I can try to resolved this?

Many thanks
Variant version error is caused by a mismatch between the OS version and the MID, you'll have to s-off the phone again and change the MID to match the OS or change the OS to match the MID.

What is the OS version?

edit:

And your CID is incorrect, it should be HTC__001 not htc__001
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lomax01
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Thanks, I'll change the CID.

The OS is 3.62.401.1.
 
alray
Old
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,094
Posts: 2,832
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lomax01 View Post
Thanks, I'll change the CID.

The OS is 3.62.401.1.
OS is 3.62.401.1 but bootloader is 1.44 which means your OS and your firmware version doesn't match together.
Are you sure you have flashed the .401 version that is made for PN0710000 and not that one for PN0711000?

What method did you used to get back to stock? It looks like your phone is not really stock... Your hboot should be 1.55 on that version.
I think you should s-off the phone again, and run a full ruu (1.28.401.7) with PN0710000 and HTC__001
then you'll be able to apply ota updates from 1.28.401.7 to 6.09.401.5
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
Lomax01
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Really appreciate your help. I'll try it when i get home.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes