Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,957 Members 38,674 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

A500 brick after firmware install

Tip us?
 
diffusore
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default A500 brick after firmware install

hi my friend has an acer a500 stuck on the screen after an incorrect software update. this device software ICS.Ha had tried to unlock the bootloader fleshando firmware 3.0.1.
I would like to recover this tablet but I do not know 'how to do it.

looking at the guide I was able to recover using the cpuid usbdeview32 in his pc and 'I found in serial 12213039815. I hope that is right.

Do you have any tips to recover this dead ??

thanks I look forward to your information.
 
diffusore
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Sep 2009
anybody help me??
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#3  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5,989
Posts: 7,248
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by diffusore View Post
hi my friend has an acer a500 stuck on the screen after an incorrect software update. this device software ICS.Ha had tried to unlock the bootloader fleshando firmware 3.0.1.
I would like to recover this tablet but I do not know 'how to do it.

looking at the guide I was able to recover using the cpuid usbdeview32 in his pc and 'I found in serial 12213039815. I hope that is right.

Do you have any tips to recover this dead ??

thanks I look forward to your information.
The serial number you refer to, is not the CPUID number. Using USB Deview, it should have an entry for Acer Iconia A500 then about 15 or 16 numbers and letters. This is your CPUID number.

Also, if the tablet is bricked, none of the easy programs will get the UID number. So you will have to use Linux to get it. Here's a guide;
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1751978
After that, then you can roll back to one of the earlier versions of Android (EUUS) This will get you back to a 3.2.1 version.

Question, can you boot into the factory recovery? (Vol- then press and hold PWR) should see some text in the upper left hand corner. If you can, you may be able to run one of the Full Update Files from this thread;
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2755126

Instructions are there.

MD

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
diffusore
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Sep 2009
thank you for your guide. i find my cpuid with linux procedure.
i have calculated the sbk and i have install v8 bootloader. my tablet alive again!!

i have only one question...

why v8 bootloader have primary and secondary kernel??
actually i flash rom cyanogen. if i would install the original rom,with unlocked bootloader, how can i do??

thank xda ramain referrence site for all mobile!!!
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#5  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 5,989
Posts: 7,248
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by diffusore View Post
thank you for your guide. i find my cpuid with linux procedure.
i have calculated the sbk and i have install v8 bootloader. my tablet alive again!!

i have only one question...

why v8 bootloader have primary and secondary kernel??
actually i flash rom cyanogen. if i would install the original rom,with unlocked bootloader, how can i do??

thank xda ramain referrence site for all mobile!!!
As with the option to dual boot kernels, I believe the theory was allowing a user to have 2 different kernels. One for long battery life, and perhaps the other for games. I think probably the long term goal, was to be able to boot to 2 different Roms, but the 500 is an old tablet, and so not much new development on the bootloader.

I will say skirlax_cz did a remarkable job on development.

Personally, despite it's age, the A500 and 501 tablets are almost brick proof. With all the knowledge and tools we have for it.

As for going back to stock, you may just install a factory ROM, like the full update for ICS. Should put it back in order.

MD

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
diffusore
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Sep 2009
how reinstall stock rom that include italian language??

thanks for your information.
 
diffusore
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Sep 2009
ok i have flash with cwm full rom deodex of civato. i have mantain bootloader and i have the stock rom 4.0.3.

all working fine now.....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more

How to Make Your GPS Lock Faster – XDA Developer TV

Nothing is more frustrating than opening up Google Maps and it taking way to long … more