Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 41,137 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] not booting recovery

Tip us?
 
GloriousDJ
Old
#1  
GloriousDJ's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default [Q] not booting recovery

I flashed Lightspeed_4_beta3 after that came out and I finally made the time to try and update to the newest version 4.3 today, but I can't get into recovery, I have Acer Recovery app and I re-installed CWM but it still wont load recovery... any ideas why? and how to fix it?

Devices:
Moto X AT&T
- ROM: stock 4.4
Acer Icona A500

Retired:
iPhone 4s
Motorola Atrix
 
ultramag69
Old
#2  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 577
Posts: 4,459
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
Go to market and get the app called "Rebooter". It gives the option to boot into recovery, dowload, reboot or power down. This needs root to work though...
 
GloriousDJ
Old
#3  
GloriousDJ's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Apr 2011
I know how to boot into recovery, that's not the problem, the problem is it wont load CWM recovery at all, it says loading recovery and it should only take a few seconds but I left it for 5 minutes and still said the same thing.

Devices:
Moto X AT&T
- ROM: stock 4.4
Acer Icona A500

Retired:
iPhone 4s
Motorola Atrix
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#4  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 6,010
Posts: 7,261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GloriousDJ View Post
I know how to boot into recovery, that's not the problem, the problem is it wont load CWM recovery at all, it says loading recovery and it should only take a few seconds but I left it for 5 minutes and still said the same thing.
Welcome to corrupted data. You know how to use ADB? You might be able to push a recovery image, but you'll need to format the devblk first I suspect.

Hope you have a backup copy of your UID number. I think you will probably need it.

I;ll say, go back to stock. Run Timmy Deans tools. It'l put a rooted stock 3.2, then install acer recovery with thor.

In the future, I would install RA Recovery. You can flash it from CWM.

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
 
GloriousDJ
Old
(Last edited by GloriousDJ; 18th March 2012 at 10:27 PM.)
#5  
GloriousDJ's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Welcome to corrupted data. You know how to use ADB? You might be able to push a recovery image, but you'll need to format the devblk first I suspect.

Hope you have a backup copy of your UID number. I think you will probably need it.

I;ll say, go back to stock. Run Timmy Deans tools. It'l put a rooted stock 3.2, then install acer recovery with thor.

In the future, I would install RA Recovery. You can flash it from CWM.
I have used ADB for my phone before, I'll look and see if I can push RA Recovery on without going back to stock, because I don't think I have my UID number anymore. Thanks for the idea, I guess I can try that see if I can get it working that way.

Devices:
Moto X AT&T
- ROM: stock 4.4
Acer Icona A500

Retired:
iPhone 4s
Motorola Atrix
 
Moscow Desire
Old
#6  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Thanks Meter 6,010
Posts: 7,261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GloriousDJ View Post
I have used ADB for my phone before, I don't have a copy of my UID number but the I can still get on the beta3 so its not stuck in a boot loop or something so I think I could get it. Thanks for the idea, I guess I can try that see if I can get it working that way.
I believe Thor has instructions for pushing the CWM image on his site at tegraowners. As now you cannot flash an install.

I also suppose, you might try AcerREcovery from the market, and see if it would flash CWM again. Might be a little easier.

Want to avoid a vacation to the Frostlands? Then Follow the XDA Rules Here

 
Though I walk among the trolls, I fear them not, for I am the Troll King
Killen dem Trolls since 2011
Acer Iconia A701***A501***ExPlay X-Tremer***HTC Desire***Desire S
The Following User Says Thank You to Moscow Desire For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GloriousDJ
Old
#7  
GloriousDJ's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
I believe Thor has instructions for pushing the CWM image on his site at tegraowners. As now you cannot flash an install.

I also suppose, you might try AcerREcovery from the market, and see if it would flash CWM again. Might be a little easier.
Ok I'll try that first. Thanks for your help

Devices:
Moto X AT&T
- ROM: stock 4.4
Acer Icona A500

Retired:
iPhone 4s
Motorola Atrix
 
GloriousDJ
Old
#8  
GloriousDJ's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
In the future, I would install RA Recovery. You can flash it from CWM.
I got Acer Recovery app to install the RA Recovery and was able to boot into that, for whatever reason thor's wasn't working anymore. Thanks for your help

Devices:
Moto X AT&T
- ROM: stock 4.4
Acer Icona A500

Retired:
iPhone 4s
Motorola Atrix
 
eppeP
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 121
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire View Post
Hope you have a backup copy of your UID number. I think you will probably need it.
Unless I have misinterpreted something, this should not be that much of a problem. Maybe a bit inconvenient if you don't know USB programming though.

If you can get the device into APX mode it will answer the first read request with the UID.
So if you open the device (955:7820) and initiate a bulk transfer on endpoint 0x81 and you should get 8 bytes that is the UID.

Something like:
Code:
#include <libusb-1.0/libusb.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdint.h>

int main(void)
{
    unsigned char data[64];
    int received_length;
    int r = 1;
    libusb_context* ctx = NULL;
    libusb_device_handle* dev_handle = NULL;

    libusb_init(&ctx);
    dev_handle = libusb_open_device_with_vid_pid(ctx, 0x0955, 0x7820);
    if(dev_handle)
    {
        r = libusb_bulk_transfer(dev_handle, 0x81, data, sizeof(data), &received_length, 10000);
        if (r == 0)
        {
            if(received_length == 8)
            {
                printf("uid: %#016lx\n", *(uint64_t*)data);
            }
            else
            {
                r = 1;
                printf("Error: We got %d bytes of data insetad of the 8 bytes we expected...\n", received_length);
            }
        }
        else
        {
            printf("Error: USB read failed!\n");
        }
        libusb_release_interface(dev_handle, 0);
    }
    else
    {
        printf("Error: Failed to open device!\n");
    }
    libusb_exit(ctx);
    return r;
}
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to eppeP For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coder_for_life22
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 69
Join Date: Jan 2012
I have been sooo fustrated trying to get my iconia rollback from the ics leak.

I tried SEVERAL methods including this one http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2#post23850482 in a thread i just posted.

But still no luck =( Every time i try to boot into recovery mode i get "Recovery verified failed" in read text and it just sits there and wont boot into recovery.

Can someone PLEASE tell me how to fix this or a way to get rid of this error. I dont care if i have to go back to stock i will.

Thanks guys

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes