Post Reply

Possibly Bricked? I'm an idiot.

OP sicembaylor

29th August 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I believe I may have bricked my Fire HD 7". I decided to flash a new ROM. Something I've done many many times. However, this time I decided to wipe the SD card because I wanted to get rid of all the app folders, my documents, music, etc. and start from a clean state. The problem is that it occurred to me half a second after the wipe that the ROM zip as well as the backup were on the internal SD.

So now I'm in TWRP trying to mount the device, but Windows (8.1) will not recognize the internal storage and mount it as a drive. I have the latest drivers installed but nothing...

It seems I have no way of getting a new ROM onto the internal SD card so that I can flash as normal. Help?
30th August 2014, 01:23 AM   |  #2  
SafinWasi's Avatar
Senior Member
Unknown
Thanks Meter: 302
 
537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sicembaylor

I believe I may have bricked my Fire HD 7". I decided to flash a new ROM. Something I've done many many times. However, this time I decided to wipe the SD card because I wanted to get rid of all the app folders, my documents, music, etc. and start from a clean state. The problem is that it occurred to me half a second after the wipe that the ROM zip as well as the backup were on the internal SD.

So now I'm in TWRP trying to mount the device, but Windows (8.1) will not recognize the internal storage and mount it as a drive. I have the latest drivers installed but nothing...

It seems I have no way of getting a new ROM onto the internal SD card so that I can flash as normal. Help?

Use a Linux distro live CD to side load the ROM.

Sent from my device running CyanogenMod 11
30th August 2014, 01:53 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SafinWasi

Use a Linux distro live CD to side load the ROM.

Sent from my device running CyanogenMod 11

Tried that under Ubuntu. I get an error message that the volume (Kindle) can't be mounted.
30th August 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Figured out the solution. Neither Windows nor Linux would mount the device, so that I could transfer the ROM to internal storage the easy way. What worked was using ADB sideload. Now I'm relieved! For anyone else having this issue or a similar issue because they had a brain fart and wiped the internal storage AFTER wiping the ROM -- this is the solution to the problem. Use ADB sideload in TWRP.
18th September 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
So what are the steps
Quote:
Originally Posted by sicembaylor

Figured out the solution. Neither Windows nor Linux would mount the device, so that I could transfer the ROM to internal storage the easy way. What worked was using ADB sideload. Now I'm relieved! For anyone else having this issue or a similar issue because they had a brain fart and wiped the internal storage AFTER wiping the ROM -- this is the solution to the problem. Use ADB sideload in TWRP.

I'm in the exact same situation you were in (pre-brain fart) - I want to get a "fresh start" with my kindle. What are the steps I should take? I see in TWRP that I can wipe Dalvik, Data, Internal Storage, Cache and System.

I'm guessing I should wipe System, Cache, Dalvik, Flash the ROM, flash gapps, then wipe data/internal storage -- does this sound right?

Thanks
18th September 2014, 04:19 PM   |  #6  
Rushead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L.A., CA
Thanks Meter: 796
 
1,729 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiph72

I'm in the exact same situation you were in (pre-brain fart) - I want to get a "fresh start" with my kindle. What are the steps I should take? I see in TWRP that I can wipe Dalvik, Data, Internal Storage, Cache and System.

I'm guessing I should wipe System, Cache, Dalvik, Flash the ROM, flash gapps, then wipe data/internal storage -- does this sound right?

Thanks

No need to wipe internal storage.
20th September 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Re: No need to wipe internal storage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushead

No need to wipe internal storage.

Thanks - can you explain though? OP wanted to get rid of all of the music/documents/etc... Isn't the internal storage where these are? If not, what is stored here?
20th September 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #8  
Rushead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L.A., CA
Thanks Meter: 796
 
1,729 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
You can wipe internal if you want to, but be sure you can adb push your rom. I don't like to do this b/c it leaves you no backup plan. Besides, "fresh start" is mostly placebo imo.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes