Hi Locker to Help You With Lockscreen Headache

The lockscreen is a part of the OS that we see hundreds of times every day, whether … more

Must Have App Review: Spider Squisher Pro Extreme

Here on XDA TV we have a series we like to call Must Have Apps. These are apps that we … more

OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Kindle Fire 2 7" Stock Restore

7th August 2014, 05:00 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Please Note: This guide is for the Kindle Fire 2nd Generation, NOT the 1st generation!! Do not use this guide if you have the 1st Generation. 2nd Generation Kindles have a rounded unlock slider towards the bottom right of the screen, 1st generations have a pointy slider in the middle right of the screen. If you use this guide on a 1st Generation you will brick your device!!

Edit - I have edited the instructions file as the fastboot -i 0x1949 -w command needs to be done BEFORE flashing the system.img file otherwise you can get stuck in a boot loop in rare cases. This should now work 100%.

Ok, after weeks of reading these forums I found that because of the sheer volume of help available for people with faulty or bricked Kindle Fires, it can be a little overwhelming for someone to attempt to repair their device and in some cases they can take the wrong course of action and end up making matters worse.

I thought I would write a guide for a specific common problem which is a Kindle Fire 2 stuck in a boot loop. The boot loop being that the Kindle Fire logo flashes on the screen, stays for a number of seconds and then the Kindle restarts and the same thing happens over and over. Now I know there are other similar threads around and even some programs that have automated utilities to do this but I found that most of them were not successful and I ended up doing this my way anyway. This guide is also assuming that you can enter Fastboot mode on your device.

I have attached all files needed for this guide so you don't have to go looking over the internet and clicking lots of links to get what you need.

Download the following files and follow the instructions in the word document.

Instructions - https://www.dropbox.com/s/pv4ny1qage...l%20.docx?dl=0

Android SDK - https://www.dropbox.com/s/auk5hexf1t....2-windows.exe

10.2.4 bootloader - https://www.dropbox.com/s/80xafpcj9l...rod-10.2.4.bin

boot - https://www.dropbox.com/s/333dbtrvvec8j11/boot.img

recovery - https://www.dropbox.com/s/91czoe545gf5k9q/recovery.img

system - https://www.dropbox.com/s/spbkzjqg2etoa9m/system.img

Good luck!!
Last edited by overlode; 7th October 2014 at 07:41 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to overlode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th October 2014, 01:04 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Restoring from CM
In case i wanna restore to the original FireOS, is it also possible to boot into fastboot via "adb reboot recovery" and follow your instuctions? (In case of no fastboot cable and not beeing in a bootloop)
Last edited by Hondologe; 6th October 2014 at 01:09 PM.
6th October 2014, 01:10 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondologe

In case i wanna restore to the original FireOS, is it also possible to boot into fastboot via "adb reboot recovery" and follow your instuctions? (In case of no fastboot cable)

I have had some problems using ADB fastboot before but on the other hand I have successfully carried out this restore using it too. As long as you flash the correct files to the correct partitions then you will be able to restore still if something goes wrong. The only thing that can go a bit screwy is after flashing boot and recovery, a fastboot -i 0x1949 -w should be carried out before flashing the system file. You do not need to fastboot -i 0x1949 -w AFTER flashing system.img in this case.
The Following User Says Thank You to overlode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th October 2014, 01:53 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Cool, so i should be on the safe side when i restore to stock
Going to try it out later and give you a feedback!
7th October 2014, 07:28 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondologe

Cool, so i should be on the safe side when i restore to stock
Going to try it out later and give you a feedback!

If you get stuck just give me a shout, I usually watch the forums and can answer quite quickly
The Following User Says Thank You to overlode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st November 2014, 01:06 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlode

If you get stuck just give me a shout, I usually watch the forums and can answer quite quickly

Sorry for late feedback, was too busy last weeks.. weird thing, can get the kindle to reboot into fasstboot ?!

Tried it via shell on the Kindle itself (su, then reboot bootloader), tried it vie adb (adb reboot bootloader) also i also tried it with a root shel opened via adb and then reboot bootloader).

Seems like reboot command sets bootmode always to 7, at least thats the output of the shell regardless which option i give reboot
1st November 2014, 02:17 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondologe

Sorry for late feedback, was too busy last weeks.. weird thing, can get the kindle to reboot into fasstboot ?!

Tried it via shell on the Kindle itself (su, then reboot bootloader), tried it vie adb (adb reboot bootloader) also i also tried it with a root shel opened via adb and then reboot bootloader).

Seems like reboot command sets bootmode always to 7, at least thats the output of the shell regardless which option i give reboot

Have you tried "adb reboot fastboot" rather than "bootloader"?
1st November 2014, 02:24 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlode

Have you tried "adb reboot fastboot" rather than "bootloader"?

Effect is the same

ill get the following output:

reboot fastboot
Reading idme data ...
Setting bootmode to 7
Writing new vars to temp area
You must reboot before new values will take effect

and the device shuts down, it does not even reboot until i press the power button...
1st November 2014, 03:43 PM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondologe

Effect is the same

ill get the following output:

reboot fastboot
Reading idme data ...
Setting bootmode to 7
Writing new vars to temp area
You must reboot before new values will take effect

and the device shuts down, it does not even reboot until i press the power button...

Ok, the reason this is not working for you is I think your Kindle is not currently rooted, which is why the bootloader does not kick into fastboot.

There is a post to access fastboot via adb but I think it is for KF 1st Gen so I would not personally try this. Failing all this, why not have a go at making your own fastboot cable? I have made several now and it really is easy and it can save you a lot of bother if something goes drastically wrong?

Let me know how you get on
Last edited by overlode; 2nd November 2014 at 01:02 PM.
1st November 2014, 06:01 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlode

Ok, the reason this is not working for you is I think your Kindle is not currently rooted, which is why the bootloader does not kick into fastboot.

There is a post to access fastboot via adb but I think it is for KF 1st Gen so I would not personally try this. Failing all this, why not have a go at making your own fastboot cable? I have made sevral now and it really is easy and it can save you a lot of bother if something goes drastically wrong?

Let me know how you get on

Right now i run CM11, which is already pre-rooted..
Root Check says it is rooted and the shell prompt says: "root@android:/ # " ... so i assume its rooted ....

idme bootmode 4002 also wasn't successful

Weird thing, seems like i really have to get me a factory cable if i wanna have the tablet back to stock...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes