Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,363 Members 43,873 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] how to update a romslot ?

Tip us?
 
sn123py
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default [Q] how to update a romslot ?

Hi,

i'm on 13.3.2.4, rooted with towelroot and with safestrap. I cloned the primary rom to rom-slot one and installed playstore and so on.

so, how do i update the romslot to 13.3.2.5?

Updating the main rom is easy - download the image, put it on sd-card root, and update.Root the rom again, install safestrap, everything fine.

But how do i update the image in rom-slot 1?

when i copy the file to sd-card root after booted romslot1 the device-update cannot see the image and ota is disabled.

?!?

regards,
macfly
 
sn123py
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2009
really no one?
 
jimyv
Old
#3  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default umm

Quote:
Originally Posted by sn123py View Post
really no one?
Maybe it's because if you understood anything about what you were doing to your device you would understand the question doesn't really make sense. Safe strap does not flash kernel your operating system depends on your kernel you cannot update the slot to a newer version , unless course you wanted to try but it probably would not work ( possible )but all you have to do is rename file from .bin to .zip and flash.... Only attempt on a slot
Please Hit (THANKS) If I Helped You
It's Free
<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
sn123py
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks for your answer.

flashing the .bin as a .zip does not work on a rom-slot.

my question was more targeted on how to handle a customized kindle hdx in daily use and how to honor updates from amazon.

would you simply ignore updates from amazon and stick on "old" Versions, because its complicated to keep a rom-slot current?

or, if not, how to keep a rom-slot current? update the stock rom slot, backup the new system and restore the new system to the "daily-use" rom slot?

regards,
macfly.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jimyv View Post
Maybe it's because if you understood anything about what you were doing to your device you would understand the question doesn't really make sense. Safe strap does not flash kernel your operating system depends on your kernel you cannot update the slot to a newer version , unless course you wanted to try but it probably would not work ( possible )but all you have to do is rename file from .bin to .zip and flash.... Only attempt on a slot
 
sn123py
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2009
update:

i got the slot 1 updated to 13.3.2.5 with the following steps:

- backup stock slot (system only)
- restore the backup to slot 1

right now, google play store is not working any more, but thats a different problem.

thanks for pushing me to the right direction,
macfly


Quote:
Originally Posted by sn123py View Post
Thanks for your answer.

flashing the .bin as a .zip does not work on a rom-slot.

my question was more targeted on how to handle a customized kindle hdx in daily use and how to honor updates from amazon.

would you simply ignore updates from amazon and stick on "old" Versions, because its complicated to keep a rom-slot current?

or, if not, how to keep a rom-slot current? update the stock rom slot, backup the new system and restore the new system to the "daily-use" rom slot?

regards,
macfly.
 
jimyv
Old
#6  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 388
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default well

Quote:
Originally Posted by sn123py View Post
Thanks for your answer.

flashing the .bin as a .zip does not work on a rom-slot.

my question was more targeted on how to handle a customized kindle hdx in daily use and how to honor updates from amazon.

would you simply ignore updates from amazon and stick on "old" Versions, because its complicated to keep a rom-slot current?

or, if not, how to keep a rom-slot current? update the stock rom slot, backup the new system and restore the new system to the "daily-use" rom slot?

regards,
macfly.
Technically yes but sense safestrap is no longer supported good luck getting it to work on future updates.
Please Hit (THANKS) If I Helped You
It's Free
<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes