Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,320 Members 39,104 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Alternate Unbricking Method

Tip us?
 
r3pwn
Old
(Last edited by r3pwn; 24th June 2014 at 12:11 AM.) Reason: fixes
#1  
r3pwn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,088
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default [HOWTO] Alternate Unbricking Method

This unbricking method requires that you have adb working and have root access.

First, download the latest system update for your device.
For the 7" HDX, they are posted at
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...deId=201357190.
For the 8.9" HDX, they are posted at
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...deId=201357220.

Now, please note that I DO NOT have a Kindle Fire HDX, so if this doesn't work, let me know and I will remove it immediately.

Try these commands:
Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o rw,remount /cache
mkdir /cache/recovery
echo install /cache/kindleupdate.bin > /cache/recovery/openrecoveryscript
chmod 0777 /cache/recovery/openrecoveryscript
exit
exit
adb push your-downloaded-update.bin /cache/kindleupdate.bin
adb reboot recovery
The only thing that you have to do is replace "your-downloaded-update.bin" with the path to your downloaded update. (To make it easier and avoid typos, I always just drag and drop the file into the terminal/command prompt window.)

Please also note that IT IS OKAY if the command "mkdir /cache/recovery" fails, as long as the error message says file already exists or something along those lines.

If this helped you repair your beloved HDX, feel free to hit that "Thanks" button.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Need help?
Hit me up on Twitter or Google+ or, you know, just send me a PM.

My Reddit:
r3pwn-dev

Like what I do?
Feel free to donate to my PayPal
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to r3pwn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GSLEON3
Old
#2  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1,321
Posts: 2,452
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3pwn View Post
This unbricking method requires that you have adb working and have root access.

First, download the latest system update for your device.
For the 7" HDX, they are posted at
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...deId=201357190.
For the 8.9" HDX, they are posted at
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...deId=201357220.

Now, please note that I DO NOT have a Kindle Fire HDX, so if this doesn't work, let me know and I will remove it immediately.

Try these commands:
Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o rw,remount /cache
mkdir /cache/recovery
echo install /cache/kindleupdate.bin > /cache/recovery/openrecoveryscript
exit
exit
adb push your-downloaded-update.bin /cache/kindleupdate.bin
adb reboot recovery
The only thing that you have to do is replace "your-downloaded-update.bin" with the path to your downloaded update. (To make it easier and avoid typos, I always just drag and drop the file into the terminal/command prompt window.)

Please also note that IT IS OKAY if the command "mkdir /cache/recovery" fails, as long as the error message says file already exists or something along those lines.

If this helped you repair your beloved HDX, feel free to hit that "Thanks" button.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Nice. Never thought of the simple echo install. Sometimes I think having the device can be a hindrance. You tend to focus on problems, even at the expense of finding solutions. This should be the way EVERYONE with adb access recovers. Really nothing in here that could cause further issue! I like that.
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
 
r3pwn
Old
#3  
r3pwn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,088
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSLEON3 View Post
Nice. Never thought of the simple echo install. Sometimes I think having the device can be a hindrance. You tend to focus on problems, even at the expense of finding solutions. This should be the way EVERYONE with adb access recovers. Really nothing in here that could cause further issue! I like that.
Thanks. I thought about adding a wipe system command, but if the download was corrupted, they'd be screwed. So I left it out.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Need help?
Hit me up on Twitter or Google+ or, you know, just send me a PM.

My Reddit:
r3pwn-dev

Like what I do?
Feel free to donate to my PayPal
 
r3pwn
Old
#4  
r3pwn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,088
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jul 2012
I went ahead and added another command to the OP that may/may not help. It couldn't possibly cause any harm, though. Has anyone actually tried and confirmed this to be working?


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Need help?
Hit me up on Twitter or Google+ or, you know, just send me a PM.

My Reddit:
r3pwn-dev

Like what I do?
Feel free to donate to my PayPal
 
dcoig1
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2013
When I try this, I send adb reboot recovery, the device restarts but says it failed to boot, and gives the options: "reset to factory defaults" or reboot. Is this different than factory reset or is it the same as factory reset. I know we aren't supposed to do a factory reset right?

---------- Post added at 05:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------

I just realized that it failed to copy the update .bin file. After a long time it said failed to copy file: Permission denied
Kindle HDX 7 ................. Rooted
Kindle HDX 7 LTE.......... Rooted
Kindle HDX 8.9 LTE....... Rooted and Bricked
Galaxy Note 8 ... ............ Rooted
Galaxy Note 10.1 2014... Stock (Don't want to set Knox flag)
Note 3 ............................ Rooted
 
r3pwn
Old
#6  
r3pwn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,088
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcoig1 View Post
When I try this, I send adb reboot recovery, the device restarts but says it failed to boot, and gives the options: "reset to factory defaults" or reboot. Is this different than factory reset or is it the same as factory reset. I know we aren't supposed to do a factory reset right?

---------- Post added at 05:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------

I just realized that it failed to copy the update .bin file. After a long time it said failed to copy file: Permission denied
Are you sure you have root?

Need help?
Hit me up on Twitter or Google+ or, you know, just send me a PM.

My Reddit:
r3pwn-dev

Like what I do?
Feel free to donate to my PayPal
The Following User Says Thank You to r3pwn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dcoig1
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3pwn View Post
Are you sure you have root?
I am sure that the device was rooted before the bootloop condition. I can enter 'adb shell' and then 'su' with no problem from a command prompt. However, I do not think that we are superuser when we use the command 'adb push' from the commandline unless we use 'adb root' first and it won't let me do that. When i enter 'adb root' from the command prompt I get the response: "adbd cannot run as root in production builds"
Kindle HDX 7 ................. Rooted
Kindle HDX 7 LTE.......... Rooted
Kindle HDX 8.9 LTE....... Rooted and Bricked
Galaxy Note 8 ... ............ Rooted
Galaxy Note 10.1 2014... Stock (Don't want to set Knox flag)
Note 3 ............................ Rooted
 
r3pwn
Old
#8  
r3pwn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,088
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcoig1 View Post
I am sure that the device was rooted before the bootloop condition. I can enter 'adb shell' and then 'su' with no problem from a command prompt. However, I do not think that we are superuser when we use the command 'adb push' from the commandline unless we use 'adb root' first and it won't let me do that. When i enter 'adb root' from the command prompt I get the response: "adbd cannot run as root in production builds"
Hmmmm. Try pushing it to /sdcard and change the path in your echo command to reflect that.

Need help?
Hit me up on Twitter or Google+ or, you know, just send me a PM.

My Reddit:
r3pwn-dev

Like what I do?
Feel free to donate to my PayPal
 
dcoig1
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2013
I am guessing that somehow the /cache/kindleupdate.bin is in a secure area that we cannot push to. Is there any area that we can push to? It seems we may have to push somewhere else and then move into the secured area using adb shell with su permission like here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1687590&page=5

but we don't have an sdcard with our devices.

---------- Post added at 10:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:31 PM ----------

we actually do have an sdcard directory though... i will try to push there

---------- Post added at 10:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:35 PM ----------

so i pushed the update file to the /sdcard/ directory then moved the file to the /cache/ directory, then renamed to kindleupdate.bin . Still does not help the system recovery issue. When I enter 'adb reboot recovery' it brings up a screen which says:
"Kindle Fire System Recovery
Your Kindle doesn't seem to be able to boot.
Reseting your device to Factory defaults may
help you to fix this issue.

Volume up/down to move highlight;
power button to select.
------------------------------------
Reboot your Kindle
Reset to Factory Defaults
-------------------------------------

---------- Post added at 11:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:54 PM ----------

If it makes any difference I am not bricked at the grey kindle logo but the white and orange. It just keeps refreshing the animation over and over... nothing seems to ever happen. What should I normally see when I boot to recovery? An extra option to update or something?
Kindle HDX 7 ................. Rooted
Kindle HDX 7 LTE.......... Rooted
Kindle HDX 8.9 LTE....... Rooted and Bricked
Galaxy Note 8 ... ............ Rooted
Galaxy Note 10.1 2014... Stock (Don't want to set Knox flag)
Note 3 ............................ Rooted
 
r3pwn
Old
#10  
r3pwn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,088
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jul 2012
No. What I meant was try pushing it to /sdcard then changing the echo command to reflect that.

Need help?
Hit me up on Twitter or Google+ or, you know, just send me a PM.

My Reddit:
r3pwn-dev

Like what I do?
Feel free to donate to my PayPal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes