5,814,939 Members 45,371 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 13.3.2.1 - Using device and securing Custom ROM possibility

Tip us?
 
kobayashimaru
Old
(Last edited by kobayashimaru; 19th July 2014 at 08:24 PM.) Reason: Re-did "disabling OTA"
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2011
Question [Q] 13.3.2.1 - Using device and securing Custom ROM possibility

Hi Guys,

i just got my HDX (7" - Thor) this week and was trying to get the Thor GAPPS ROM by Cpasjuste to work. Having found nothing specific for FireOS version 13.3.2.1 i went ahead and tried my luck with the "old" version of the ROM (thor-gapps-13.3.0.0-v2.zip).
Unfortunately i couldn't get it to work and am back to factory defaults. Which is good, since it's not a brick. So now i'm trying to play it safe and wait for the developer's magic to happen

i'm eager to play around with the device, but don't want to risk losing my chances of running a custom ROM in the future. i already own the first Kindle Fire and wouldn't want to miss the near stock Android on that.

So, finally, my question:
If i use the HDX Toolkit to root and disable OTA updates, i assume it will be safe to use the device until the bootloader gets unlocked or some other magic happens. Am i correct with this assumption?

Edit1 [2014-07-09 - 21:21]: sorry for the soonish edit, but i just prepared the device in case someone confirms, that it is more or less safe to use it with OTA disabled.
Upon disabling OTA, i get a few rows of "killed" messages in the HDX toolkit. When i first disabled OTA i saw that some services were being disabled or uninstalled. Is "killed" a confirmation that the components are already killed? i have already factory resetted, as i cannot find a way to do a full wipe. The result is the same.

Thanks in advance.
 
jimyv
Old
(Last edited by jimyv; 20th July 2014 at 12:22 AM.)
#2  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 393
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default umm

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobayashimaru View Post
Hi Guys,

i just got my HDX (7" - Thor) this week and was trying to get the Thor GAPPS ROM by Cpasjuste to work. Having found nothing specific for FireOS version 13.3.2.1 i went ahead and tried my luck with the "old" version of the ROM (thor-gapps-13.3.0.0-v2.zip).
Unfortunately i couldn't get it to work and am back to factory defaults. Which is good, since it's not a brick. So now i'm trying to play it safe and wait for the developer's magic to happen

i'm eager to play around with the device, but don't want to risk losing my chances of running a custom ROM in the future. i already own the first Kindle Fire and wouldn't want to miss the near stock Android on that.

So, finally, my question:
If i use the HDX Toolkit to root and disable OTA updates, i assume it will be safe to use the device until the bootloader gets unlocked or some other magic happens. Am i correct with this assumption?

Edit1 [2014-07-09 - 21:21]: sorry for the soonish edit, but i just prepared the device in case someone confirms, that it is more or less safe to use it with OTA disabled.
Upon disabling OTA, i get a few rows of "killed" messages in the HDX toolkit. When i first disabled OTA i saw that some services were being disabled or uninstalled. Is "killed" a confirmation that the components are already killed? i have already factory resetted, as i cannot find a way to do a full wipe. The result is the same.

Thanks in advance.
Never factory reset stock slot if you have run the OTA blocker the utility also has a eNAble option for the OTA blocker always uninstall xposed framework and modules before factory reset also .. Always returning the unit to as close to factory as you can before doing a factory reset in factory recovery. Otherwise you risk breaking your device.. If you look around you will find ways to do a manual update to a slightly newer firmware just not the newest and your ROMs will work.
Please Hit (THANKS) If I Helped You
It's Free
<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Following User Says Thank You to jimyv For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kobayashimaru
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimyv View Post

Never factory reset stock slot if you have run the OTA blocker the utility also has a eNAble option for the OTA blocker always uninstall xposed framework and modules before factory reset also .. Always returning the unit to as close to factory as you can before doing a factory reset in factory recovery. Otherwise you risk breaking your device.. If you look around you will find ways to do a manual update to a slightly newer firmware just not the newest and your ROMs will work.
Thanks. i will look for the update method you mentioned. i might have already read it on Friday, but didn't think it would apply to my version.

i have removed everything related to modding before factory resetting from the FireOS settings. At that point, there was only safestrap left, which i uninstalled.

If i decided to stay on FireOS after all, until a better method comes up, is there a way for me to check, if the OTA blocker is actually working?
 
jimyv
Old
#4  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 393
Join Date: Jan 2012
Wink lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobayashimaru View Post
Thanks. i will look for the update method you mentioned. i might have already read it on Friday, but didn't think it would apply to my version.

i have removed everything related to modding before factory resetting from the FireOS settings. At that point, there was only safestrap left, which i uninstalled.

If i decided to stay on FireOS after all, until a better method comes up, is there a way for me to check, if the OTA blocker is actually working?
It works. Just open settings go device,system updates ,check for updates, should fail immediately..if it stars to dl. kill wifi
Please Hit (THANKS) If I Helped You
It's Free
<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Following User Says Thank You to jimyv For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kobayashimaru
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimyv View Post
It works. Just open settings go device,system updates ,check for updates, should fail immediately..if it stars to dl. kill wifi
Thanks, i'm always scared with such new devices.
"Update failed". Perfect.
i got the Thor GAPPS working by now, so i'll try using that for now.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes