Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 38,008 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] how to re-enable OTA updates after rooting 14.3.1.0

Tip us?
 
rlkellyjr
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2011
Question [Q] how to re-enable OTA updates after rooting 14.3.1.0

I recently rooted my kindle hdx 8.9 with .94 toolkit. Every thing works fine. I disabled the OTA update with tookkit .94. I did not manually install the current update with the other program, due to some reporting bricking if not done correctly.

I used tookkit .94 to un-install (re-enable) OTA updates, however when I got to take an update in the menu, it reports update failed..

So, how to I re-enable auto updates? I want to take the current update, so I can remove ads from Amazon, cause I paid them 15 bux. Then I want to re-root and re-enable OTA blocker.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
EncryptedCurse
Old
#2  
EncryptedCurse's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2014
You do know that you can easily remove the ads yourself, right? :P
 
rlkellyjr
Old
(Last edited by rlkellyjr; 4th September 2014 at 08:10 PM.) Reason: mis spelling
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Remove adds

Quote:
Originally Posted by EncryptedCurse View Post
You do know that you can easily remove the ads yourself, right? :P

Can you point me in the right direction. ?? how to remove ads
 
Droid_1
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 102
Join Date: Oct 2012
Just use Google...

Or try it with that one:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2569309

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app
Hit "Thanks" if I helped you. Thanks
 
jimyv
Old
(Last edited by jimyv; 5th September 2014 at 02:38 AM.)
#5  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 389
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droid_1 View Post
Just use Google...

Or try it with that one:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2569309

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app
very dangerous that is for the HD http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2790659
, You only need to do the SQ edit and you are done. I had the exact same issue after I paid for the removal I would get black screen lock screen. Trust me do the SQ lite Edit only .reboot
Please Hit (THANKS) If I Helped You
It's Free
<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes