Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,007 Members 40,810 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Lost root with update

Tip us?
 
lsj1978
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] Lost root with update

First let me say thank you to all of the developers on here who work so hard to help everyone, and give us resources to get the most out of our devices. I've been lurking on this forum for a while, and it's enabled me to root my last two Kindles, and two smartphones over the last couple of years.

I had to finally register because I need some help with my Kindle Fire HDX 8.9". Like many recently, I was able to root my device with towelroot, I installed rootchecker (which confirmed root) and SuperSU, as well as the Google Play Store. So all was great, but when I went to run the toolkit so I could block OTA updates that's where I couldn't succeed. Whenever I tried to disable updates or check root status it just kept giving errors and saying device not found, and asking me to please allow root to my device.

I made sure ADB was enabled, but I still couldn't get the toolkit to do anything. So, I lost root today because of the latest kindle update. What am I doing wrong that's not allowing the toolkit to disable updates?
 
blade22
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jun 2013
i faced same issue of device not found while using toolkit

here follow this

https://developer.amazon.com/appsand...et-for-testing
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to blade22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Yourteeth
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Montreal
Default Try rerooting

Try rerooting your device with the tool and then try again to disable updates. This might work. What version are you on now?
The Following User Says Thank You to Yourteeth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lsj1978
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade22 View Post
i faced same issue of device not found while using toolkit

here follow this
Just what I needed, thanks!!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes