FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] KIndle Fire D01400 TWRP recovery problems

9 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By vstrenko, Junior Member on 1st September 2014, 07:21 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1st September 2014, 10:28 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

use Install.Drivers.bat from Kindle Fire Utility if you have not yet.
reboot pc, check device manager with kindle connected to PC
should be listed as an Android Phone>adb interface
if OK then
boot Kindle to TWRP
in command prompt on PC

Code:
adb devices
should get something like
Code:
123456789  recovery
if you get waiting for device for more than a few secs or or some kind of bad command error post it.

---------- Post added at 04:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:03 PM ----------

if response is good
Code:
adb shell "cat /proc/cmdline"

When it is booted into android, it shows in adb as

Code:
list of  devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF   device
When I boot into TWRP and execute adb devices i get

Code:
list of devices attached
with no further error messages

In TWRP on the second row at the top, along with the battery level (100%) and time 5:26pm, it says SIMULATING ACTIONS in all caps. is it supposed to say that or should it say something else
 
 
1st September 2014, 10:34 PM |#12  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 3,127
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

When it is booted into android, it shows in adb as

Code:
list of  devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF   device
When I boot into TWRP and execute adb devices i get

Code:
list of devices attached
with no further error messages

In TWRP on the second row at the top, along with the battery level (100%) and time 5:26pm, it says SIMULATING ACTIONS in all caps. is it supposed to say that or should it say something else

ok
try
with Kindle off, but connected to PC
Code:
fastboot devices
then boot Kindle
1st September 2014, 10:49 PM |#13  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

ok
try
with Kindle off, but connected to PC

Code:
fastboot devices
then boot Kindle

fastboot reports nothing at all when i try that, when i type that in it pauses for a fraction of a second then i am left with a prompt on a new line to enter a command

Code:
C:\Windows\system32\> fastboot devices

C:\Windows\system32\>
1st September 2014, 11:14 PM |#14  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 3,127
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

fastboot reports nothing at all when i try that, when i type that in it pauses for a fraction of a second then i am left with a prompt on a new line to enter a command

Code:
C:\Windows\system32\> fastboot devices

C:\Windows\system32\>

download adb-fastboot.zip

Create a folder in C drive named adb (c:adb)
Unzip adb-fastboot.zip
Copy adb/fastboot files (AdbWinUsbApi.dll, AdbWinApi.dll, adb.exe, fastboot.exe) to folder

Connect kindle to pc, power off kindle
Open Command Prompt
Enter Commands
Code:
cd\adb
Code:
fastboot devices
power on kindle
2nd September 2014, 12:45 AM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

download adb-fastboot.zip

Create a folder in C drive named adb (c:adb)
Unzip adb-fastboot.zip
Copy adb/fastboot files (AdbWinUsbApi.dll, AdbWinApi.dll, adb.exe, fastboot.exe) to folder

Connect kindle to pc, power off kindle
Open Command Prompt
Enter Commands

Code:
cd\adb
Code:
fastboot devices
power on kindle

It is on when I use fastboot devices from a command prompt.

that is what I get as a result
2nd September 2014, 01:02 AM |#16  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 3,127
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

It is on when I use fastboot devices from a command prompt.

that is what I get as a result

you may not have enough posts to link images, if that was your intent
try sending a pm or email

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 PM ----------

Kindle should be off when entering fastboot commands, because kindle is in fastboot mode only a short time when powering on
2nd September 2014, 04:56 AM |#17  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

you may not have enough posts to link images, if that was your intent
try sending a pm or email

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 PM ----------

Kindle should be off when entering fastboot commands, because kindle is in fastboot mode only a short time when powering on

Previous owner of the device had the TWRP recovery set to use simulation mode. I was unaware that was even an option since i was not familar with TWRP( my previous android flashing experiences used clockwork) after unchecking those boxes in the advanced settings, I was successfully able to flash a rom and gapps, and everything was perfect after that.

sorry for wasting so much time on this, I really missed something simple on this one.
2nd September 2014, 03:28 PM |#18  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 3,127
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

Previous owner of the device had the TWRP recovery set to use simulation mode. I was unaware that was even an option since i was not familar with TWRP( my previous android flashing experiences used clockwork) after unchecking those boxes in the advanced settings, I was successfully able to flash a rom and gapps, and everything was perfect after that.

sorry for wasting so much time on this, I really missed something simple on this one.

no problem, I've never used the simulation options before...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes