Post Reply

[Q] KIndle Fire D01400 TWRP recovery problems

OP vstrenko

1st September 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

use Install.Drivers.bat from Kindle Fire Utility if you have not yet.
reboot pc, check device manager with kindle connected to PC
should be listed as an Android Phone>adb interface
if OK then
boot Kindle to TWRP
in command prompt on PC

Code:
adb devices
should get something like
Code:
123456789  recovery
if you get waiting for device for more than a few secs or or some kind of bad command error post it.

---------- Post added at 04:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:03 PM ----------

if response is good
Code:
adb shell "cat /proc/cmdline"

When it is booted into android, it shows in adb as

Code:
list of  devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF   device
When I boot into TWRP and execute adb devices i get

Code:
list of devices attached
with no further error messages

In TWRP on the second row at the top, along with the battery level (100%) and time 5:26pm, it says SIMULATING ACTIONS in all caps. is it supposed to say that or should it say something else
1st September 2014, 10:34 PM   |  #12  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,738
 
4,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

When it is booted into android, it shows in adb as

Code:
list of  devices attached
0123456789ABCDEF   device
When I boot into TWRP and execute adb devices i get

Code:
list of devices attached
with no further error messages

In TWRP on the second row at the top, along with the battery level (100%) and time 5:26pm, it says SIMULATING ACTIONS in all caps. is it supposed to say that or should it say something else

ok
try
with Kindle off, but connected to PC
Code:
fastboot devices
then boot Kindle
1st September 2014, 10:49 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

ok
try
with Kindle off, but connected to PC

Code:
fastboot devices
then boot Kindle

fastboot reports nothing at all when i try that, when i type that in it pauses for a fraction of a second then i am left with a prompt on a new line to enter a command

Code:
C:\Windows\system32\> fastboot devices

C:\Windows\system32\>
1st September 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #14  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,738
 
4,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

fastboot reports nothing at all when i try that, when i type that in it pauses for a fraction of a second then i am left with a prompt on a new line to enter a command

Code:
C:\Windows\system32\> fastboot devices

C:\Windows\system32\>

download adb-fastboot.zip

Create a folder in C drive named adb (c:adb)
Unzip adb-fastboot.zip
Copy adb/fastboot files (AdbWinUsbApi.dll, AdbWinApi.dll, adb.exe, fastboot.exe) to folder

Connect kindle to pc, power off kindle
Open Command Prompt
Enter Commands
Code:
cd\adb
Code:
fastboot devices
power on kindle
2nd September 2014, 12:45 AM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

download adb-fastboot.zip

Create a folder in C drive named adb (c:adb)
Unzip adb-fastboot.zip
Copy adb/fastboot files (AdbWinUsbApi.dll, AdbWinApi.dll, adb.exe, fastboot.exe) to folder

Connect kindle to pc, power off kindle
Open Command Prompt
Enter Commands

Code:
cd\adb
Code:
fastboot devices
power on kindle

It is on when I use fastboot devices from a command prompt.

that is what I get as a result
2nd September 2014, 01:02 AM   |  #16  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,738
 
4,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

It is on when I use fastboot devices from a command prompt.

that is what I get as a result

you may not have enough posts to link images, if that was your intent
try sending a pm or email

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 PM ----------

Kindle should be off when entering fastboot commands, because kindle is in fastboot mode only a short time when powering on
2nd September 2014, 04:56 AM   |  #17  
OP Junior Member
Flag Pottsville, PA 17901
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

you may not have enough posts to link images, if that was your intent
try sending a pm or email

---------- Post added at 07:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 PM ----------

Kindle should be off when entering fastboot commands, because kindle is in fastboot mode only a short time when powering on

Previous owner of the device had the TWRP recovery set to use simulation mode. I was unaware that was even an option since i was not familar with TWRP( my previous android flashing experiences used clockwork) after unchecking those boxes in the advanced settings, I was successfully able to flash a rom and gapps, and everything was perfect after that.

sorry for wasting so much time on this, I really missed something simple on this one.
2nd September 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #18  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,738
 
4,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstrenko

Previous owner of the device had the TWRP recovery set to use simulation mode. I was unaware that was even an option since i was not familar with TWRP( my previous android flashing experiences used clockwork) after unchecking those boxes in the advanced settings, I was successfully able to flash a rom and gapps, and everything was perfect after that.

sorry for wasting so much time on this, I really missed something simple on this one.

no problem, I've never used the simulation options before...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Kindle Fire Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank