Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] What steps am I missing with my install to kitkat?

OP JJsevol

2nd July 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #1  
JJsevol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag big city
Thanks Meter: 122
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
To start off the kindle had an older version of twrp and had a version of ice cream sandwich. Those work correctly and it continues to work correctly after a nandroid restore.

Fast forward to now, I installed the latest twrp and flashed the latest FFF v1.5 bootloader.

I flashed this CM11 nightly cm-11-20140702-NIGHTLY-otter.zip
and flashed latest gapps gapps-kk-20140606-signed.zip

After I finish flashing everything I can setup the kindle but once I reboot it goes into a bootloop at the CM logo that results in a colorful screen. If I power off and power on it just bootlopps at the CM logo. Not sure what else I can do. Any help is appreciated.

Forgot to add. I have tried flashing Pacman rom: pac_otter-nightly-20140701.zip and I get same results as above.
Last edited by JJsevol; 8th July 2014 at 06:52 PM.
3rd July 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Verify md5 for rom and gapps after downloading?
[How to] Verify that your download is complete with MD5/SHA-1 Hash Checksums
3rd July 2014, 02:30 AM   |  #3  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
try gapps-kk-20140105-signed.zip

---------- Post added at 07:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

newer is not always better
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 09:04 AM   |  #4  
dokie80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag jakarta
Thanks Meter: 78
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Dirty flash or clean?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
3rd July 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #5  
JJsevol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag big city
Thanks Meter: 122
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

Verify md5 for rom and gapps after downloading?
[How to] Verify that your download is complete with MD5/SHA-1 Hash Checksums

Matching md5 for the roms and gapps

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

try gapps-kk-20140105-signed.zip

---------- Post added at 07:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

newer is not always better

Going to try with these

Quote:
Originally Posted by dokie80

Dirty flash or clean?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

It's always been a clean flash

On a side note installing a jelly bean rom works fine and I can reboot without a problem.
4th July 2014, 10:52 AM   |  #6  
dokie80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag jakarta
Thanks Meter: 78
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJsevol

Matching md5 for the roms and gapps



Going to try with these



It's always been a clean flash

On a side note installing a jelly bean rom works fine and I can reboot without a problem.

If u install JB with out problem with the same twrp, then ur twrp is twrp6?
Afaik, kitkat need twrp7, JB need twrp6.

I had bootloop when I flashed JB with twrp7. Check ur twrp version?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
4th July 2014, 03:48 PM   |  #7  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dokie80

If u install JB with out problem with the same twrp, then ur twrp is twrp6?
Afaik, kitkat need twrp7, JB need twrp6.

I had bootloop when I flashed JB with twrp7. Check ur twrp version?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

That is what I was thinking, recheck twrp version
4th July 2014, 05:00 PM   |  #8  
JJsevol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag big city
Thanks Meter: 122
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dokie80

If u install JB with out problem with the same twrp, then ur twrp is twrp6?
Afaik, kitkat need twrp7, JB need twrp6.

I had bootloop when I flashed JB with twrp7. Check ur twrp version?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

That is what I was thinking, recheck twrp version

Never thought about that. I just downloaded the version in the twrp thread.
4th July 2014, 07:13 PM   |  #9  
JJsevol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag big city
Thanks Meter: 122
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
OK so I have twrp 2.7.0.1. Here's the screenshot in recovery. Does your twrp look like that because my other twrp on other devices look different logo wise.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1404493989979.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	2832710  
4th July 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #10  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
4,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJsevol

OK so I have twrp 2.7.0.1. Here's the screenshot in recovery. Does your twrp look like that because my other twrp on other devices look different logo wise.

that should be fine, unless it did not install correctly. try the 2.7.1.0 zip version zip-openrecovery-twrp-2.7.1.0-otter.zip Install in old TWRP>wipe cache and dalvik>reboot

The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
kindle, kitkat, otter, rom, twrp
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes