Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,424 Members 36,021 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HELP regarding lenovo p780 network.

Tip us?
 
chandy786
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] HELP regarding lenovo p780 network.

Hi everyone,
This is my first post/question on this awesome community. I have a lenovo p780 8gb, the phone was working absolutely fine until yesterday. Now I am not getting any signal coverage whether it be 2g or 3g, I didn't do anything to the phone, no root, no physical damage etc. I tried searching for a solution but all effort in vain. I checked with different sim cards, tried the factory reset but the signal never came. I also tried to upgrade the firmware but after downloading the update data of 11gb the phone entered recovery mode and the update failed. I will post the complete error message if any one asks. Please help, it's very very annoying.
thanks
 
stympy
Old
#2  
stympy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 483
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandy786 View Post
Hi everyone,
This is my first post/question on this awesome community. I have a lenovo p780 8gb, the phone was working absolutely fine until yesterday. Now I am not getting any signal coverage whether it be 2g or 3g, I didn't do anything to the phone, no root, no physical damage etc. I tried searching for a solution but all effort in vain. I checked with different sim cards, tried the factory reset but the signal never came. I also tried to upgrade the firmware but after downloading the update data of 11gb the phone entered recovery mode and the update failed. I will post the complete error message if any one asks. Please help, it's very very annoying.
thanks
Hi. You must tell us more about your phone. Like: are you in custom ROM? Your ROM is ROW or Chinese? Do you have Custom Recovery or Stock? Have you moved in anorher region then where you tested the phone, because the modem would not recognize the network type?
Ohh... And 11gb of update for your phone does not exist. Max 1gb in custom ROMS.

Sent from my Lenovo P780 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to stympy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chandy786
Old
(Last edited by chandy786; 9th May 2014 at 08:10 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by stympy View Post
Hi. You must tell us more about your phone. Like: are you in custom ROM? Your ROM is ROW or Chinese? Do you have Custom Recovery or Stock? Have you moved in anorher region then where you tested the phone, because the modem would not recognize the network type?
Ohh... And 11gb of update for your phone does not exist. Max 1gb in custom ROMS.

Sent from my Lenovo P780 using XDA Free mobile app
Hi thank you so much for replying, As to answer your question everything is stock, the rom, recovery etc. My rom is ROW. I didn't change my region, the signals just went missing without any reason. I am sorry about writing 11gb update I wanted to write 11mb. I havent rooted my phone and havent tinkered with it in any way. The phone is 3 months old. Also the phone is showing a system update of 11mb but when I download it and enter into recovery to apply it the installation aborts. I really have no idea what is happening. It's really frustrating. If you have any questions please let me know.
thanks
 
stympy
Old
#4  
stympy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 483
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandy786 View Post
Hi thank you so much for replying, As to answer your question everything is stock, the rom, recovery etc. My rom is ROW. I didn't change my region, the signals just went missing without any reason. I am sorry about writing 11gb update I wanted to write 11mb. I havent rooted my phone and havent tinkered with it in any way. The phone is 3 months old. Also the phone is showing a system update of 11mb but when I download it and enter into recovery to apply it the installation aborts. I really have no idea what is happening. It's really frustrating. If you have any questions please let me know.
thanks
This is realy strange indeed. I think your phone is in warranty time? Iff your phone is not rooted we cannot do mutch! Maybe you should go to a local service store.
 
chandy786
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Yeah it is, if you have any kind of solution then I can root my phone. I tried to install a different modem but the installation aborts without giving any kind of error message.

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Free mobile app
 
stympy
Old
#6  
stympy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 483
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandy786 View Post
Yeah it is, if you have any kind of solution then I can root my phone. I tried to install a different modem but the installation aborts without giving any kind of error message.

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Free mobile app
Yes. Because your phone doe not have a custom recovery.
To root your phone you can use Framaroot but you are going to lose your warranty and this is not good.
After that you can install a custom recovery with mobileuncle tools and then you can patch a new modem.
 
chandy786
Old
(Last edited by chandy786; 9th May 2014 at 09:18 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
OK , can you share a link about how to install custom recovery in lenovo p780, and a list of few modems. It will be really nice of you. Thanks

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Free mobile app
 
chandy786
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
My question is while installing a new modem do we have to copy only the modem file or the whole. Zip package which includes firmware, mddb etc?

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Free mobile app
 
stympy
Old
#9  
stympy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 483
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandy786 View Post
My question is while installing a new modem do we have to copy only the modem file or the whole. Zip package which includes firmware, mddb etc?

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Free mobile app
This zip file must be installed from custom recovery like TWRP or CWM.
Iff you doit manualy, must copy the modem files and the set permissions! after that reboot the phone.

The Following User Says Thank You to stympy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more