Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Lenovo P780 Wifi Issues

OP nairaland

24th February 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Does anybody have the same issue as my device. The wifi signal seems to drop considerably when device is a little further from router?

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th February 2014, 02:45 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Yes.... Same goes here.
28th February 2014, 03:29 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Seems a general/design fault with the P780. I have watched videos from users on YouTube.

Sent from my Lenovo P780_ROW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
6th April 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #4  
AgentCain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I also experience problems with my WiFi connection

It seems to be connected all the time, but when I use the browser or google play store or any other kind of software that uses wifi connection, it takes quite some time to get going. At first it seems to get stuck but if you wait for like 10 seconds or so, it starts working.

The phone is the chinese version. I successfully flashed a ROW rom with the additional fix for the modem.

Im not quite sure if it a hardware or software issue
Any thoughts and solutions?
6th April 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #5  
spock81's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
How to tell from CN ROM to a ROW ROM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentCain

I also experience problems with my WiFi connection

It seems to be connected all the time, but when I use the browser or google play store or any other kind of software that uses wifi connection, it takes quite some time to get going. At first it seems to get stuck but if you wait for like 10 seconds or so, it starts working.

The phone is the chinese version. I successfully flashed a ROW rom with the additional fix for the modem.

Im not quite sure if it a hardware or software issue
Any thoughts and solutions?

Its probably too late now i think is a overflashing problem i have done, phone originally came with a ROW rom S119 pre-rooted but i have flashed all the Roms both ROW & CN, i only have issues with Vibe & LiFE, i have not touched modems yet, would i be write in thinking my base has not changed, I am going to stick with ROW S123 OTA, when i get it on
6th April 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #6  
AgentCain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock81

Its probably too late now i think is a overflashing problem i have done, phone originally came with a ROW rom S119 pre-rooted but i have flashed all the Roms both ROW & CN, i only have issues with Vibe & LiFE, i have not touched modems yet, would i be write in thinking my base has not changed, I am going to stick with ROW S123 OTA, when i get it on

The phone showed the same behaviour out of the box, without even thinking about changing the ROM.
However, the seller claims that he changed the ROM to a chinese one with gapps included.
7th April 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #7  
soralz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taipei
Thanks Meter: 141
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentCain

The phone showed the same behaviour out of the box, without even thinking about changing the ROM.
However, the seller claims that he changed the ROM to a chinese one with gapps included.

Did you set Keep WLAN on during sleep to "Never"? By default it is set to "Smart" mode.
7th April 2014, 11:41 AM   |  #8  
AgentCain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by soralz

Did you set Keep WLAN on during sleep to "Never"? By default it is set to "Smart" mode.

Yes I did. The problem doesn't appear after the screen turns off. It may as well appear randomly while browsing
9th April 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #9  
AgentCain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentCain

Yes I did. The problem doesn't appear after the screen turns off. It may as well appear randomly while browsing

In response to my previously mentioned problem, it seems that its more of a software bug than a hardware one.

I did some tests, connecting to both an open network and a WPA protected one. It seems that the phone's connection to this type of networks is strong and constant. I've concluded that it must be some kind of lenovo's software related bug, a bug in android's OS or both.
Eduroam is a type of WPA Enterprise protected international network. The most known feature of it is the use of certificates, which are not needed in open or traditional WPA protected networks.

So the question is: what's the root of the issue?
20th April 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #10  
Jackal331's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bratislava
Thanks Meter: 18
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Info for you guys, I don't experience such problems on my phone with stock or now with SLX rom, maybe a warranty check? (I have chinese version).
Last edited by Jackal331; 20th April 2014 at 08:40 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes