Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,340 Members 42,958 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlocking Sprint G Flex to Cricket/AIO/ATT Wireless

Tip us?
 
Powers16
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 156
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gallatin
Cool Unlocking Sprint G Flex to Cricket/AIO/ATT Wireless

This tutorial is my method for successfully unlocking the G flex to Cricket/AIO/ATT wireless with data/MMS, No battery drain, no Wifi calling drain.

1. Pros. Use Cricket/AIO/ATT sim.
2. Cons. Must dial International code +1 ( or whatever country code you're in) before every 10 digit number.

********Before we start you need to be on stock 4.4.2 sprint rom with Network Mode LTE/CDMA enabled************
(The roaming option does not appear when on GSM)
Next, change theme from "FLEX" to "LG". For some reason FLEX bugs out after the phone unlocks and causes crashes. (May be an isolated incident)

*Now we need to add the APN from AIO wireless into the Apn list by going into settings>roaming>Access point names

*The APN list will be blank and state "NO APNS" this is normal. Hit the menu button and add the AIO wireless APN settings from
http://buzzmobile.us/aio-wireless-ap...-internet-mms/
When completed you will need to press the back button and once again you will be greeted with a blank APN screen. Don't worry it's there.

Follow the instructions for root + unlocking the phone here. Total commander doesn't work on 4.4.2, don't use it, do it all with Root Browser (Get from Play Store).
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50477852


After you are finished you should be rooted, successfully finished removing bloatware and left with a half unlocked phone.
Now navigate to settings/tethering and networks/mobile networks/Network Mode and change to GSM/WCDMA

**********************You are finished with this portion of the Tutorial***********************

*Fun Part*
1. Download Rom toolbox on your phone, the free/lite version is fine.
2. Navigate to build.prop editor
3. Find and change the settings listed..

ro.carrier=spr (spr to lowercase)

ro.build.target_operator=spr (spr to lowercase)

persist.service.crash.enable=1

Lets keep something in mind here... Once you change these settings you will need to restart your phone and you will be unlocked for Cricket/AIO/ATT networks, however, at this time you should know that if you venture back into network mode and happen to change your settings back to LTE/CDMA, you will lose the ability to change your network mode back to GSM UNLESS you revert the build.prop changes listed above. You can actively switch from LTE/CDMA and GSM by this method although I don't see why anyone would..

At this point you should have Talk/Text/Data/MMS...If not, you may have done something wrong.

**More funner part***

At this point in the tutorial your phone is doing two things.

1. It lies when it says its only on GSM/WCDMA
2. Rapidly draining the S#$% out of your battery.

We need the MSL Code so we may dial ##DATA# in your phone and access LTE settings.

Follow this Tutorial for retrieving your MSL code.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=47324060

After you obtain the MSL pull up the phone application and dial ##DATA#(3282) Navigate into LTE and disable LTE/Band 26/Band 41
When you back out of the menu your phone will restart and stop continuously looking for LTE Radio.

**Final touches**

Remove all and I mean ALL sprint and preloaded wifi calling applications if you experience wifi calling battery draining. For some reason wifi calling spazzes out.

I'm not going to list the apk's because it may be an isolated incident and if you find out wifi calling is draining your battery just long press it in battery stats and go to "APP INFO" and find out what it is named and remove it with root browser...

I have been on Cricket/AIO wireless for two weeks now with HSPA+ and enjoying it.

This method may work with other carriers who knows.

**Food for thought**

1. When I change the ro.carrier settings from lowercase spr to ndo like in the APN i got a cool h+ instead of GSM.
2. I have not been able to wifi tether yet with cricket and I'm actively looking for a way now..
3. Think anyone else has issues with the FLEX theme crashing?
The Following User Says Thank You to Powers16 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cairui505
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2014
thanks.

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
sweets55
Old
#3  
sweets55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,921
Join Date: May 2009
If you don't mind how much do you pay? Will this work with a T-Mobile Flex? I'm pretty happy with T-Mobile since I got my discount back. I have 4 lines so it's around 25 bucks in savings a month.
 
Powers16
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 156
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gallatin
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweets55 View Post
If you don't mind how much do you pay? Will this work with a T-Mobile Flex? I'm pretty happy with T-Mobile since I got my discount back. I have 4 lines so it's around 25 bucks in savings a month.
It should work with t-mobile, i don't see why not, instead of ATT/AIO apn's just add a Tmobile apn and make sure that you have some time to play with the build.prop settings for example...

ro.carrier = spr can be changed to ndo and still work because "in theory" it matches the APN.
After adding the tmobile apn setting, changing ro.carrier to " t-mobile" to match the apn might work .

Try it out and see!

p.s i would leave ro.build.target_operator=spr alone, if all else fails you can change this too.
 
Supertacomonkeyexplosion
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2013
Thanks for the guide . I picked up a sprint g flex and lg g2 cheap, used your guide on both. Enjoying them on NET10 in the states.
patiently waiting for a custom recovery for kitkat on the flex.
 
kdm212
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 364
Join Date: Jan 2009
interesting thread. i keep running into an issue though. as soon as i reboot after changing the stuff it reverts to where i was before and nothing saved. any suggestions? root is fine...

awesome stuff here i really want to see this happen on my flex!
 
Jholanar91
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Wont allow apn change

so i got stuck with a simple issue. when i go into the apn list there is an apn there already.

cinet.spcs

and when i press the menu key it is not showing the add feature to be able to add the new apn as described in the thread.

Tags
aio wireless, cricket, lg flex, msl, sprint
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes