Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Apex Launcher and nav bar...

OP King_Rat

4th July 2014, 11:11 AM   |  #1  
King_Rat's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Three dots keep coming and going in my nav bar (refer screenie)

Aesthetically it's not pleasing, plus the first time it appeared I thought it was there to stay - so I removed dock and used nav bar for all shortcuts, and you know it - the bloody thing disappeared!?

So I was effectively locked out of the launcher... Now the frickin thing is back again!!??

How to remove/disable it??

T.I.A

On CM11 4.4.4, latest Apex Launcher...



Sent from my Kin[G]_Pad
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1404464949364.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	30.2 KB
ID:	2832191  
4th July 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #2  
sleekmason's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fayetteville
Thanks Meter: 264
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by King_Rat

Three dots keep coming and going in my nav bar (refer screenie)

Aesthetically it's not pleasing, plus the first time it appeared I thought it was there to stay - so I removed dock and used nav bar for all shortcuts, and you know it - the bloody thing disappeared!?

So I was effectively locked out of the launcher... Now the frickin thing is back again!!??

How to remove/disable it??

T.I.A

On CM11 4.4.4, latest Apex Launcher...



Sent from my Kin[G]_Pad

Try nova...
4th July 2014, 04:08 PM   |  #3  
ncguy68's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 38
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by King_Rat

Three dots keep coming and going in my nav bar (refer screenie)

Aesthetically it's not pleasing, plus the first time it appeared I thought it was there to stay - so I removed dock and used nav bar for all shortcuts, and you know it - the bloody thing disappeared!?

So I was effectively locked out of the launcher... Now the frickin thing is back again!!??

How to remove/disable it??

T.I.A

On CM11 4.4.4, latest Apex Launcher...



Sent from my Kin[G]_Pad

Those three dots are the menu. It pops up in certain apps that have no other menu option. It can be disabled in most custom roms, but not the launcher.

Sent from my LG-V500 using xda premium
4th July 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #4  
whoamigriffiths's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind You
Thanks Meter: 702
 
1,052 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncguy68

Those three dots are the menu. It pops up in certain apps that have no other menu option. It can be disabled in most custom roms, but not the launcher.

Sent from my LG-V500 using xda premium

Yup, go to settings and find your navbar settings. You should have full control over the menu button (the 3 dots)

Sent from my LG-V500 using XDA Premium HD app
4th July 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #5  
King_Rat's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
@ all... I am aware that they are for Apex menu, that's why I disabled dock so I could use dots and nav bar for menu navigation... CM11 as far as I can tell doesn't allow nav bar tweaking. Ever since CM went legit their roms have been a lot less feature packed, my old ideos on CM7 had more options than their latest and greatest. Also, the fact it comes and goes is the problem. 4.4.4 bug w/ Apex maybe...

Sent from my Z10 Warbird
Last edited by King_Rat; 5th July 2014 at 10:41 AM.
5th July 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #6  
ncguy68's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 38
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by King_Rat

[IMG][/IMG]@ all... I am aware that they are for Apex menu, that's why I disabled dock so I could use dots and nav bar for menu navigation... CM11 as far as I can tell doesn't allow nav bar tweaking. Ever since CM went legit their roms have been a lot less feature packed, my old ideos on CM7 had more options than their latest and greatest. Also, the fact it comes and goes is the problem. 4.4.4 bug w/ Apex maybe...

Sent from my Z10 Warbird

On my tablet certain apps use the menu (three dots) XDA, Amazon, Movie Fone, GoodReads, etc. I have not used CM on my Gpad, but on my Asus Tablet CM11 does have Nav Bar customizations. On my Gpad I use Slimkat and it allows you to turn off the menu.

Sent from my LG-V500 using xda premium
7th July 2014, 05:38 AM   |  #7  
King_Rat's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
:5laps-head: found buttons...

If I enable menu autohide, it'll be gone for a whole then come back!?

I've disabled it so we'll see what functionality I lose and whether it comes back again... Remember I don't mind seeing it in app, but when Launcher is only app open - I'd like it to am-scray

Update: with auto hide it still reappears!? If I disable it apps lose functionality... Reboot, or toggle hide/show in navbar settings gets rid of it for a while... But it's as annoying as heck!

Sent from my Kin[G]_Pad
Last edited by King_Rat; 7th July 2014 at 10:48 PM.
9th July 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Have you contacted Apex? I've been using them for a few years and have had to contact them a few time. They're pretty good about responding.

I'm running stock ROM and Jelly Bean so I don't have this issue...sorry, that's all I got for you.
9th July 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #9  
King_Rat's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
1,191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fettfan

Have you contacted Apex? I've been using them for a few years and have had to contact them a few time. They're pretty good about responding.

I'm running stock ROM and Jelly Bean so I don't have this issue...sorry, that's all I got for you.

I've moved it to far left, for some reason I don't find it as irritating on this side when it randomly pops up...

Sent from my Kin[G]_Pad
10th July 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #10  
ncguy68's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 38
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
I am using Apex Pro 2.4.1 beta 2 and I do not have the three dot menu icon on my Gpad 8.3.

Sent from my LG-V500 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes