MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Gpad 8.3 update to 4.4 2 no longer able to read sim card from tmobile.

OP Casetheace

3rd August 2014, 03:53 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Updated to 4.4.2 today via ota. Was originally a Verizon 8.3 lte, switched to t-mobile. Was able to toss a sim card in and update apn ran fine. But after ota update today it no longer reads tmobile sim card. Have updated apns, continuing to get notifications that tablet activation incomplete, your tablet will try again when you restart. Have restarted plenty of times, on boot get welcome to Verizon red startup screen. Then goes to straight to screen unlock. Anyone with a idea of how to fix this. Tablet is rooted.
3rd August 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 440
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casetheace

Updated to 4.4.2 today via ota. Was originally a Verizon 8.3 lte, switched to t-mobile. Was able to toss a sim card in and update apn ran fine. But after ota update today it no longer reads tmobile sim card. Have updated apns, continuing to get notifications that tablet activation incomplete, your tablet will try again when you restart. Have restarted plenty of times, on boot get welcome to Verizon red startup screen. Then goes to straight to screen unlock. Anyone with a idea of how to fix this. Tablet is rooted.

same here... I skipped the initial setup steps. Device shows no network connection to t-mobile. When I go to Settings-> About Tablet-> Network, com.android.phone crashes


To go back to 4.2.2:
Root, Flash aboot.img and TWRP.img
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...37&postcount=2

Then reflash 4.2.2 TWRP backup (dunno if you can do direct flash without factory reset... try?)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2768048

most likely you'll lose your files/apps/settings... unfortunate
Last edited by paperWastage; 3rd August 2014 at 04:35 AM.
3rd August 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #3  
robiatti's Avatar
Member
Flag Santa Ana, CA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

same here... I skipped the initial setup steps. Device shows no network connection to t-mobile. When I go to Settings-> About Tablet-> Network, com.android.phone crashes


To go back to 4.2.2:
Root, Flash aboot.img and TWRP.img
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...37&postcount=2

Then reflash 4.2.2 TWRP backup (dunno if you can do direct flash without factory reset... try?)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2768048

most likely you'll lose your files/apps/settings... unfortunate

Mine is still working on T-Mobile after 4.4.2 ota . i did need to redo the apn though. I also get the activation
Notification but i just ignore it and my lte data works just fine.
3rd August 2014, 06:08 AM   |  #4  
robiatti's Avatar
Member
Flag Santa Ana, CA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

same here... I skipped the initial setup steps. Device shows no network connection to t-mobile. When I go to Settings-> About Tablet-> Network, com.android.phone crashes


To go back to 4.2.2:
Root, Flash aboot.img and TWRP.img
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...37&postcount=2

Then reflash 4.2.2 TWRP backup (dunno if you can do direct flash without factory reset... try?)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2768048

most likely you'll lose your files/apps/settings... unfortunate

Mine is still working on T-Mobile after 4.4.2 ota . i did need to redo the apn though. I also get the activation
Notification but i just ignore it and my lte data works just fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-08-02-21-06-38.png
Views:	140
Size:	99.7 KB
ID:	2881543  
3rd August 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 440
 
924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I restored 4.2.2, 4G still doesn't work

restored the modem from 4.2.2, works in 4.2.2 and 4.4.2 now

http://code.ngvincent.com/android/modem.4.2.2.img

needs root
Code:
 adb shell
su
#backup current modem

dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/modem of=/sdcard/modem.backup.img

#restore modem from 4.2.2

dd if=/sdcard/modem.img of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/modem
Last edited by paperWastage; 3rd August 2014 at 04:49 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to paperWastage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th August 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
doesnt work for me even if i flash the modem. do you get the activation notification when you reboot your device paper?
Last edited by flanker22; 11th August 2014 at 11:09 AM.
6th October 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #7  
Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 7
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Doesn't work
Same. Anyone have a fix?
12th October 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
I fixed mine. I had to reactivate it with a Verizon sim card. Go through the whole process. then i was able to pop in a tmobile and add the APN settings for Tmobile.
14th October 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinese281

I fixed mine. I had to reactivate it with a Verizon sim card. Go through the whole process. then i was able to pop in a tmobile and add the APN settings for Tmobile.

Did you use an active Verizon sim ?
We are getting a new Verizon G pad. Do we need to insert a Verizon sim, upgrade to kitkat and then insert T-mobile sim?

Thanks for your help
14th October 2014, 02:13 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zevelking

Did you use an active Verizon sim ?
We are getting a new Verizon G pad. Do we need to insert a Verizon sim, upgrade to kitkat and then insert T-mobile sim?

Thanks for your help

Mine was already on 4.4.2. I just inserted an active Verizon sim card, went through the setup process, then swap out the sim cards.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes