Elemental – The Cross Platform Code Editor StartUp

There is not many cross-platform code editors capable to run both on desktop and … more

Dropbox App Available on Windows Phone

The Dropbox app is well known and widely used. The application has finally landed on Windows Phone … more

aContact+++ Next Dialer

Ifyou have a dual SIM device and have problems with managing your two cards, you should check this dialer. … more

HTC Hima Photo Leaks Were Decoys

Reputable leaker EvLeaks confirms to us that he knows the photos of the HTC Hima circling the internet these … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Installing rom(slimkat) from Stock 4.4.2

OP cc2918

26th July 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello. I've been flashing/installing customs roms all day..
I can't seem to solve my problem. Wi-fi wont connect in any of 4.4.x custom roms(slimkat,paranoid..etc)
however it works fine on 4.2.2, 4.4.2 stock and LRS rom
full packaged rom seems to be only solution for me.

heres what i did
My device came with 4.4.2.
I downgraded to 4.2.2
rooted
used loki/twrp package to install twrp 2.6.3.2
wiped data/cache/dalvik
installed custom rom
boots device fine but wifi wont connect(i do see list of wifi network)

tried following
higher version of twrp(s)
tried 4.2.2/4.4.2 flashable bootstacks
tried different type of roms from infected website
tried flashing custom roms after flashing 4.2.2 + 4.4.2 flashable stock roms

none seems to be working.

=( are there any other steps i need to do?
perhaps missing correct kernels?

thanks in advance.
26th July 2014, 03:04 PM   |  #2  
muiriddin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mid-Atlantic
Thanks Meter: 112
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
What model gpad do you have? It looks like a v500. Sometimes a factory reset after ROM install helps. Does android settings show the WiFi MAC address?

If it does the kernel at least detects the WiFi hardware on a basic level.

I do know that slimkat after installing seems to require a reboot for things to settle. However as i recall that was for some of the sensors not wifi. Did you reboot after install?

Also did you set the WiFi region in the advanced part of the WiFi settings?
Last edited by muiriddin; 26th July 2014 at 03:16 PM. Reason: Clarified
26th July 2014, 05:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by muiriddin

What model gpad do you have? It looks like a v500. Sometimes a factory reset after ROM install helps. Does android settings show the WiFi MAC address?

If it does the kernel at least detects the WiFi hardware on a basic level.

I do know that slimkat after installing seems to require a reboot for things to settle. However as i recall that was for some of the sensors not wifi. Did you reboot after install?

Also did you set the WiFi region in the advanced part of the WiFi settings?

v500
did reset/reboot still doesnt work.
mac address/region information(changed to us/can/europe for test) is there.

i did notice that there is no bluetooth address however i did install many other custom rom.
this isn't the only rom with the problem.
26th July 2014, 07:16 PM   |  #4  
muiriddin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mid-Atlantic
Thanks Meter: 112
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
What did you use to downgrade to 4.2.2?
26th July 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by muiriddin

What did you use to downgrade to 4.2.2?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...86&postcount=7
used this. then once recovery was installed.

used http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2762526
to test and fix my above problems.

are there any v50010b kernel download?
i feel that its something to do with 10a
26th July 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #6  
muiriddin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mid-Atlantic
Thanks Meter: 112
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
So the second thread you linked to solved your issue?
26th July 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by muiriddin

So the second thread you linked to solved your issue?

no i tried to fix but no go.
wifi problem remains.
28th July 2014, 02:38 PM   |  #8  
muiriddin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mid-Atlantic
Thanks Meter: 112
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
I am using a newer version of recovery than you are. I will have to look around and see what I did differently if I get a chance...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes