Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Verizon GPad to GPE

OP gfullwr70

27th June 2014, 08:05 AM   |  #1  
gfullwr70's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Durham, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 99
 
436 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I have a Verizon Gpad that no longer has service can i flash it to the 4.4.4 GPE?
27th June 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #2  
muiriddin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mid-Atlantic
Thanks Meter: 104
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfullwr70

I have a Verizon Gpad that no longer has service can i flash it to the 4.4.4 GPE?

If it is closer to the V500 than the V510 then probably not, however I am not aware of anyone who has tried to do a conversion of this sort. The first thing you would probably need is a way to unlock the bootloader. Last I knew the V810 does not have an unlocked bootloader.
27th June 2014, 04:51 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 435
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muiriddin

If it is closer to the V500 than the V510 then probably not, however I am not aware of anyone who has tried to do a conversion of this sort. The first thing you would probably need is a way to unlock the bootloader. Last I knew the V810 does not have an unlocked bootloader.

doesn't matter because we have a bootloader exploit

the partitions on the GPE are different, think it needs some work to be ported over, and you probably won't get LTE access

heck, my vk810 cm11 build still doesn't have LTE access yet... haven't made any useful findings
The Following User Says Thank You to paperWastage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 06:23 PM   |  #4  
gfullwr70's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Durham, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 99
 
436 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I don't care about LTE I just want stock kitKat

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
27th June 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 435
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfullwr70

I don't care about LTE I just want stock kitKat

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

did you try my cm11 build then?

I probably can build AOSP kitkat for vk810 (with the same broken LTE/GPS)... let me know
27th June 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #6  
gfullwr70's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Durham, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 99
 
436 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I will give it a try !!

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
30th June 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #7  
Skizzy034's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,016
 
4,956 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

doesn't matter because we have a bootloader exploit

the partitions on the GPE are different, think it needs some work to be ported over, and you probably won't get LTE access

heck, my vk810 cm11 build still doesn't have LTE access yet... haven't made any useful findings

Which partitions are different?
30th June 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 435
 
922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skizzy034

Which partitions are different?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...38&postcount=1

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=10

dont know if the different partition layouts would mess anything up... anyone's free to try porting GPE rom-> v500/vk810
30th June 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #9  
cam30era's Avatar
Senior Member
Columbus, Indiana
Thanks Meter: 466
 
1,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skizzy034

Which partitions are different?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...38&postcount=1

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=10

dont know if the different partition layouts would mess anything up... anyone's free to try porting GPE rom-> v500/vk810

Quite a bit of work was done early this year to try to port the V510 ROM to V500. While the result was reasonably stable, it was unuseable because the developers could not get WiFi to work. Hardware & drivers were sufficiently different between the two devices to be problematic. You can find old threads in Android Development and in the General section.

I'm not trying to tell you guys this won't work. Just letting you know about some previous work.
30th June 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #10  
Skizzy034's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,016
 
4,956 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...38&postcount=1

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=10

dont know if the different partition layouts would mess anything up... anyone's free to try porting GPE rom-> v500/vk810

Quote:
Originally Posted by cam30era

Quite a bit of work was done early this year to try to port the V510 ROM to V500. While the result was reasonably stable, it was unuseable because the developers could not get WiFi to work. Hardware & drivers were sufficiently different between the two devices to be problematic. You can find old threads in Android Development and in the General section.

I'm not trying to tell you guys this won't work. Just letting you know about some previous work.

Would it be easier to port a v510 rom to the Verizon GPad? I just want KK. I don't care about having aosp and I don't need LTE. I'm just using Wi-Fi.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes