Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,888 Members 36,340 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Updating from D83810c TO D83810d

Tip us?
 
straycat
Old
#1  
straycat's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 129
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ponferrada
Default [Q] Updating from D83810c TO D83810d

Hi all.

My LG G Pro 2 HK (Hong Kong) version, is prompting me to update system software from 83810c to 83810d.

I'm successfully rooted with towelroot now.

If I proceed with the update I get lose the root?? If yes, could I root again easily with towelroot the 83810d HK version??

Thanks in advance.

Saluti a tutti!!
 
letschky
Old
#2  
letschky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 547
Posts: 660
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perchtoldsdorf/Vienna

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes you can root this Version,i have 10f rooted with Towelroot,Taiwan Version.
But you must go back to Stock,you can't update with root,The update will abort if it is rooted.
Go back to stock,make all Updates or flash 10d KDZ and root again.
My Rom Threads






My Devices


LG G Pro 2 D838 White 32GB
Stock Rom/10e Root

LG G Pad 8.3
LRS Rom 2.5

Older Devices:LG G Flex D955 - LG G2 - HTC Droid DNA - HTC One X Plus - Samsung Note II - LG Optimus 4X HD - HTC ONE X
 
straycat
Old
#3  
straycat's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 129
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ponferrada
Quote:
Originally Posted by letschky View Post
Yes you can root this Version,i have 10f rooted with Towelroot,Taiwan Version.
But you must go back to Stock,you can't update with root,The update will abort if it is rooted.
Go back to stock,make all Updates or flash 10d KDZ and root again.
Finally, I've not only updated but upgraded under root.

And the best of all is that I've not lose the root.

Please, check right your information next time.

Salutti a tutti!!

Enviado desde mi Nexus 7 mediante Tapatalk
 
letschky
Old
(Last edited by letschky; 23rd August 2014 at 06:22 AM.) Reason: edit
#4  
letschky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 547
Posts: 660
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perchtoldsdorf/Vienna

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by straycat View Post
Finally, I've not only updated but upgraded under root.

And the best of all is that I've not lose the root.

Please, check right your information next time.

Salutti a tutti!!

Enviado desde mi Nexus 7 mediante Tapatalk
Make a Factory reset and you lose root!
Normal is,make a factory reset after update,system runs better!

Make a Ota update with root,the phone says,is rooted and the update aborted,this is what i mean.
My Rom Threads






My Devices


LG G Pro 2 D838 White 32GB
Stock Rom/10e Root

LG G Pad 8.3
LRS Rom 2.5

Older Devices:LG G Flex D955 - LG G2 - HTC Droid DNA - HTC One X Plus - Samsung Note II - LG Optimus 4X HD - HTC ONE X
 
straycat
Old
#5  
straycat's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 129
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ponferrada
Quote:
Originally Posted by letschky View Post
Make a Factory reset and you lose root!
Normal is,make a factory reset after update,system runs better!

Make a Ota update with root,the phone says,is rooted and the update aborted,this is what i mean.
I don't know if doing a factory reset I will lose root. I don't think so but, hey, I've not verified, so... maybe.

System running better than now is impossible. This is THE smartphone.

In fact, I've done a successfully OTA update WITH ROOT, and root have been preserved, this is what I mean.

Regards.
 
letschky
Old
#6  
letschky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 547
Posts: 660
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perchtoldsdorf/Vienna

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by straycat View Post
I don't know if doing a factory reset I will lose root. I don't think so but, hey, I've not verified, so... maybe.

System running better than now is impossible. This is THE smartphone.

In fact, I've done a successfully OTA update WITH ROOT, and root have been preserved, this is what I mean.

Regards.
Ok its your Story,my is with Root aborted the OTA Update,the phone says,your Phone have root aborting the Update.
Is your Phone a Taiwanese,Singapor,etc... Version?
I have Taiwan Version.
My Rom Threads






My Devices


LG G Pro 2 D838 White 32GB
Stock Rom/10e Root

LG G Pad 8.3
LRS Rom 2.5

Older Devices:LG G Flex D955 - LG G2 - HTC Droid DNA - HTC One X Plus - Samsung Note II - LG Optimus 4X HD - HTC ONE X
 
straycat
Old
#7  
straycat's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 129
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ponferrada
Mine is HK version.
 
letschky
Old
#8  
letschky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 547
Posts: 660
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perchtoldsdorf/Vienna

 
DONATE TO ME
Interesting that it is at one and the other as
My Rom Threads






My Devices


LG G Pro 2 D838 White 32GB
Stock Rom/10e Root

LG G Pad 8.3
LRS Rom 2.5

Older Devices:LG G Flex D955 - LG G2 - HTC Droid DNA - HTC One X Plus - Samsung Note II - LG Optimus 4X HD - HTC ONE X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule Is Up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more