FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[MOD]YouTube 1080p enabler for AOSP based roms

540 posts
Thanks Meter: 235
 
By GizmoKaca, Senior Member on 18th August 2014, 02:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello. I thought I would share this little tip for people who enjoy AOSP roms, but miss the 1080p option in the YouTube app.

Simply change this line in your build.prop file.

ro.build.version.release=4.4.4

change it to:

ro.build.version.release=4.4.2

Save it

Reboot your device.

If it doesn't work right away you simply go to YouTube App Info and press Clear cache and Clear data. Then open the YouTube app again and enjoy 1080p!

Hope this helps you guys and big thanks to twizzlebizzle21 for discovering this. Here is the original post on reddit http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comm...e_by_changing/

Works perfectly on the latest build of Mahdi rom for me.
Last edited by GizmoKaca; 18th August 2014 at 07:17 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to GizmoKaca For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
18th August 2014, 03:30 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoKaca

Hello. I thought I would share this little tip for people who enjoy AOSP roms, but miss the 1080p option in the YouTube app.

Simply change this line in your build.prop file.

ro.build.version.release=4.4.4

change it to:

ro.build.version.release=4.4.2

Save it

Reboot your device.

If it doesn't work right away you simply go to YouTube App Info and press Clear cache and Clear data. Then open the YouTube app again and enjoy 1080p!

Hope this helps you guys and big thanks to Android Authority for tweeting out this great tip!

Works perfectly on the latest build of Mahdi rom for me.

This is great! I've been uploading videos to YouTube and testing them with several kinds of devices, too!
18th August 2014, 05:20 PM |#3  
GizmoKaca's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoke28

This is great! I've been uploading videos to YouTube and testing them with several kinds of devices, too!

Nice! BTW this should also enable the 1440p option, if you happen to own a device with a Quad HD display!
18th August 2014, 09:58 PM |#4  
mannequin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 290
 
More
it's all fun and games but the real question here is why it doesn't work on stock LG that has "4.4.2" in it's build.prop as is.
18th August 2014, 11:06 PM |#5  
GizmoKaca's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannequin

it's all fun and games but the real question here is why it doesn't work on stock LG that has "4.4.2" in it's build.prop as is.

Yeah. That is very strange if that is indeed the case... The G3 ported roms all work great with 1080p though... I think Google will soon flip the switch and make it work out of the box
19th August 2014, 12:13 AM |#6  
cakessi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Thank You
Works on my 2013 Nexus 7 running Paranoid Android latest. Could doing this have any adverse effects?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes