Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Data Cap Already?!

OP thenewbigmack

3rd July 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Hey all. Recently switched to T-Mobile and got the G2. I immediately rooted it to customize things how I wanted them. Everything I have been doing has been with WiFi enabled. I never turn it off, honestly. In just about 10 days, I hit my 3 gig data cap, and have no idea how. I was rooted, and thought my Rom could be part of the reason, so I KDZ flashed back to stock. Now all my data usage is wiped, but obviously still at data cap. Is there anyway I could take it into the store? It's going to look really bad on my end when I tell them I factory reset my phone because I hit data cap, but it just doesn't make sense. I never came anywhere close to 3 gigs of data on Verizon, and that was a whole months use with not much WiFi involved. A bit irritated right now.... any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
3rd July 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #2  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,181
 
9,285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
There is a separate data usage tab for WiFi & mobile data. Are you sure you were on the right one?

Transmitted via Geass
3rd July 2014, 04:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace42

There is a separate data usage tab for WiFi & mobile data. Are you sure you were on the right one?

Transmitted via Geass

Yeah, I got the text from tmobile letting me know I'd be throttled...
3rd July 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
I had this happen to me a few months back when I was on a T-mobile stock rom... if you have a custom recovery installed and aren't on the latest OTA update it will download the update, fail file verification and re-download the file... I blew through 2gb in one afternoon.
Here is the link to the post and the solution if this is your issue.
3rd July 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizardofwoz

I had this happen to me a few months back when I was on a T-mobile stock rom... if you have a custom recovery installed and aren't on the latest OTA update it will download the update, fail file verification and re-download the file... I blew through 2gb in one afternoon.
Here is the link to the post and the solution if this is your issue.

I was on slimkat with twrp, so doubt it was the issue. It's quite possible though, so thank you for the link. I'm pretty sure that going into the tmobile store would be a waste of my time...
3rd July 2014, 04:37 AM   |  #6  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,181
 
9,285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewbigmack

Yeah, I got the text from tmobile letting me know I'd be throttled...

They won't help you or restore your data speed, you can upgrade to a higher limit if that's an option for you. Your limit can be filled a little easy if you use social media sites, G+ uses about 1gbs/month for me.

Transmitted via Geass
3rd July 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #7  
immorality's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
I got on the 50 buck plan unlimited everything.. Just no upgrade for phones

Sent from my d2lte using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes