Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

no double tap on / screen replacement /proximity

OP findinghomer

9th August 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Hopefully someone can help me out. This is verizon vs980. I needed to replace my screen bc I got a dead zone in the digitizer. In my experiences with screen replacement, replacing just the lcd/ digitizer assembly never goes well, aftermarket double Side tape never holds it to the mid frame like factory. So I opted for a digitizer/lcd/mid frame assembly. Simply swap the guts. Everything went well. After about a week the digitizer began lifting from the mid frame (as though it weren't factory assembled) . Little mad about that bc it's the whole reason I opted for that type of assembly. So I decided to return it. This time,I figured if they're gonna lift like that from the "factory" I might as well save the twenty five bucks and just buy an lcd/digitizer this time and stick it to the mid frame myself. I did. Once I was totally done, everything seemed to be just fine. Then I realized the knock on does not Work, and my proximity sensor was acting up. Didn't worry about the proximity sensor since I'm taking it back a part anyway to send this assembly back bc knock on isn't working... So I sent it back. Got a new one, same issue ! No knock on and proximity sensor is acting up. So , suspecting proximity sensor as culprit I unplugged it. Still no knock on. So I then pulled the proximity from the housing and Used a proximity tester app to test it. When its out of the mid frame, dangling, it works fine (still no knock on) but when I put it back into the midframe housing the proximity sensor registers something in front of it ( no its not glue or tape, digitizer is unattached permanently at this point) confused I looked at pictures I took from that very first assembly that I took before returning. I found there is a black housing trim that I accidentally left in the housing I sent back ! It pops into the midframe, then the sensor pops into that.. I suspect this is why my proximity sensor goes haywire when it's in the assembly, but why is my knock on not working?! That black piece I left in housing ? Bad sensor all together? Coincidentally got two bad digitizers??? Rom? (Tried to different same result) stumped. So to sum it up right now, I have no knock on, and the proximity sensor constantly registers something when it's placed into the housing, but works fine outside the housing.
Last edited by findinghomer; 9th August 2014 at 04:08 AM.
9th August 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 114
 
529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Did you update touch firmware?
Dial 3845#*8xx# / settings/ update touch firmware
8xx or 9xx according to your model , example 8xx/9xx becomes 802 on g2 d802

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
9th August 2014, 04:55 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzygrmn

Did you update touch firmware?
Dial 3845#*8xx# / settings/ update touch firmware
8xx or 9xx according to your model , example 8xx/9xx becomes 802 on g2 d802

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app

No I didn't, I don't have my sim card in to access the dialer. Suppose I could try that, but it worked just fine with the lcd/digitizer/frame assembly. Is this something you're supposed to do after a screen replace?
9th August 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzygrmn

Did you update touch firmware?
Dial 3845#*8xx# / settings/ update touch firmware
8xx or 9xx according to your model , example 8xx/9xx becomes 802 on g2 d802

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app

Hmmmm evidently that hidden menu code doesn't Work on verizon
9th August 2014, 05:12 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 114
 
529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Maybe that helps: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2467302

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to crzygrmn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2014, 05:52 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzygrmn

Maybe that helps: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2467302

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app

Thanks, ill see if I can figure that out
9th August 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzygrmn

Maybe that helps: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2467302

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app

This worked ! Got my knock on back, thanks buddy !
9th August 2014, 04:19 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 114
 
529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Your welcome. Your probably the last one I helped with g2. Counting down the hours till I get my g3 this afternoon. Would've kept this baby, but no microsd was always a killer for me.

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
10th August 2014, 07:51 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzygrmn

Your welcome. Your probably the last one I helped with g2. Counting down the hours till I get my g3 this afternoon. Would've kept this baby, but no microsd was always a killer for me.

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app

Yea the g3 is on my radar for my next phone. Using g3 rom to tide me over
14th August 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 114
 
529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by findinghomer

Yea the g3 is on my radar for my next phone. Using g3 rom to tide me over

Trust me its a beast and im not looking back. I got none off any known issue. Maybe im just lucky with my Canadian batch.

Sent from my LG-D852 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes