Elemental – The Cross Platform Code Editor StartUp

There is not many cross-platform code editors capable to run both on desktop and … more

Dropbox App Available on Windows Phone

The Dropbox app is well known and widely used. The application has finally landed on Windows Phone … more

aContact+++ Next Dialer

Ifyou have a dual SIM device and have problems with managing your two cards, you should check this dialer. … more

HTC Hima Photo Leaks Were Decoys

Reputable leaker EvLeaks confirms to us that he knows the photos of the HTC Hima circling the internet these … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] GPS no lock G2 D802

OP Doctor_hv

12th December 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hi guys,
I checked the existing topics, and most of the people complain about GPS on CM based ROMs.
However, I have stock ROM, did not root it, or done any changes to the system. I have stock KK.
When I bought the phone 3 months ago I would get GPS lock very fast. Then some month ago I started noticing that I would lose GPS signal quite often, and in the last couple of days I cannot get GPS lock at all. I remove the case, and hold it near window, and while Samsung phone gets lock in less than a minute and navigates well, LG G2 just stays on the "waiting for GPS".
Is there some app that I can use (I already have GPS satus which doesn't help), and some of the solutions offered require flashing the zip which I cannot do since I didn't root and install CWM.
Will the factory reset help, as it's the last resort I wouldn't want to use unless really no option.
Thank you for your help.
Cheers,
12th December 2014, 12:20 PM   |  #2  
wisefreakz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sampa City
Thanks Meter: 484
 
1,116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Its a know issue with most lg g2. You can remove the back case and do the paper trick on the GPS plugs.... Worked for me!! Just YouTube it.
12th December 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisefreakz

Its a know issue with most lg g2. You can remove the back case and do the paper trick on the GPS plugs.... Worked for me!! Just YouTube it.

I just did a format (had to backup everything from the phone as it erases the internal memory) and no help.

After booting it and installing GPS status, after 5 minutes, it doesn't catch any satellites, only shows the 0/21 and this number goes even down to 13, and every time the screen locks, the little satellite icon gets X, and then it starts searching again.

It is such a rubish if I have to do it, especially since the back cover is not removable. I'll take it to the store I bought it in, I'll see if they can do anything.
12th December 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor_hv

I just did a format (had to backup everything from the phone as it erases the internal memory) and no help.

After booting it and installing GPS status, after 5 minutes, it doesn't catch any satellites, only shows the 0/21 and this number goes even down to 13, and every time the screen locks, the little satellite icon gets X, and then it starts searching again.

It is such a rubish if I have to do it, especially since the back cover is not removable. I'll take it to the store I bought it in, I'll see if they can do anything.

a lot of people have this issue, i'm one of them... didn't work for me to use the back cover solution
13th December 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
This morning I was out and it started locking on satellites, it had 4 out of 7, and then suddenly they all disappeared, and could not catch any again. This is such a piece of s*** from LG, how can they make such mistakes, so I pay 300 EUR for a phone and then have a brick which will leave me stranded in a foreign country where I don't know the roads.
I tried the pinching trick and it gets the lock quite fast when I am holding the upper right corner. But unfortunately when I let it go, the signal gets lost soon.
I just hope they will replace it in the store I bought it in, or somehow fix it. I don't want to open it myself and lose warranty.
Last edited by Doctor_hv; 13th December 2014 at 06:25 AM.
7th January 2015, 10:17 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
So, I came back to Europe from Far East and my GPS works great, when I am outdoors, it gets lock in 20 seconds, but if I am indoors, even next to a huge window, it doesn't show any satellites, or after couple of minutes it shows only the Russian ones (AndroiTS GPS Test) and doesn't get lock on them.
I don't know how it'll work when I go back to Asia, but this is annoying.
I went to the store, and they told me, if it works outdoors, the service center will return it and say it works.... to bad we don't have official LG stores here to replace it more easily.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes