Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Help] LG G2 Usb port not working

OP chonghua

8th July 2014, 03:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag City of Smiles
Thanks Meter: 12
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Hi, I need an advise or help regarding my G2's usb port.

Before it was not working, I connected my g2 to my Samsung flat tv to access my video for watch, but sadly it didn't recognized it.
Then I tried charging my g2 but the charging icon isn't showing up.
I tried also connect to laptop, yet no luck. same goes for an OTG cable.

May I know if my usb port is broken? Do anyone here knows how to fix this?

Thank you for reading this and future help that you can give soon.

Regards,
Chonghua
8th July 2014, 04:42 AM   |  #2  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chonghua

Hi, I need an advise or help regarding my G2's usb port.

Before it was not working, I connected my g2 to my Samsung flat tv to access my video for watch, but sadly it didn't recognized it.
Then I tried charging my g2 but the charging icon isn't showing up.
I tried also connect to laptop, yet no luck. same goes for an OTG cable.

May I know if my usb port is broken? Do anyone here knows how to fix this?

Thank you for reading this and future help that you can give soon.

Regards,
Chonghua

Did you drop it or fall in water or anything? Maybe the USB port got knocked loose, if that's the case you would have to take off backplate or manufacturer fix
8th July 2014, 05:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag City of Smiles
Thanks Meter: 12
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea

Did you drop it or fall in water or anything? Maybe the USB port got knocked loose, if that's the case you would have to take off backplate or manufacturer fix

No, I haven't drop it or fell into a water. I just plugged the usb cable from my g2 to my samsung tv, trying to access my videos and yet it didn't recognized my g2.
8th July 2014, 05:26 AM   |  #4  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chonghua

No, I haven't drop it or fell into a water. I just plugged the usb cable from my g2 to my samsung tv, trying to access my videos and yet it didn't recognized my g2.

Man that's weird, I don't know maybe the port came loose inside and has to be reconnected or maybe a reset. Almost sounds like the TV shorted it but never heard of that happening
9th July 2014, 03:51 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag City of Smiles
Thanks Meter: 12
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea

Man that's weird, I don't know maybe the port came loose inside and has to be reconnected or maybe a reset. Almost sounds like the TV shorted it but never heard of that happening

I think so, my TV shorted my usb port. I'm trying to reflash back to Jellybean stock to check if it will resolve.. It might be a kernel failure, do you think?
9th July 2014, 07:24 AM   |  #6  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chonghua

I think so, my TV shorted my usb port. I'm trying to reflash back to Jellybean stock to check if it will resolve.. It might be a kernel failure, do you think?

I don't think its a kernel failure, are your rooted with custom recovery?,if so just flash a different kernel, did the reset do anything?

To reset hardware press VOL DOWN + POWER together until lg logo appears the house reset and use power key to select, this has to be down when phone is off also....there's also a soft reset and that can be done through settings
Last edited by RubbleTea; 9th July 2014 at 07:35 AM. Reason: more info
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank