Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to wipe / (root directory)

OP Michalko5896

30th June 2014, 08:28 PM   |  #1  
Michalko5896's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Hello, i have LG G2 with TWRP recovery and im asking how to wipe root directory of phone because i have there files from twrp and superuser and i wanna send my phone to RMA.. Full wipe (/system, /data, /cache, /sdcard) will not wipe /.. Ty for answers
1st July 2014, 12:07 AM   |  #2  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 388
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michalko5896

Hello, i have LG G2 with TWRP recovery and im asking how to wipe root directory of phone because i have there files from twrp and superuser and i wanna send my phone to RMA.. Full wipe (/system, /data, /cache, /sdcard) will not wipe /.. Ty for answers

Follow this thread to restore your phone to stock.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45293512

This will wipe everything (including internal SD card) and return your phone to the same state as if you were pulling it out of the box for the first time.
2nd July 2014, 01:43 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Not exactly... After this method the phone status remains "rooted" when booted in download mode. Couple of users reported this problem...
Edit: here's the fix http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52991286
Last edited by jake.the.cake; 2nd July 2014 at 02:18 PM.
2nd July 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #4  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 388
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake.the.cake

Not exactly... After this method the phone status remains "rooted" when booted in download mode. Couple of users reported this problem...
Edit: here's the fix http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52991286

That tool does not unroot your phone. All it does it trip the root flag so when you boot into download mode it says unrooted. It is meant to be used so that if you take your phone into your carriers store and an associated wants to check if its rooted, it will say its unrooted when the associate puts it in download mode, but it is in fact still rooted. This DOES NOT unroot the phone.

See attached screen shot:

Last edited by simon_lefisch; 2nd July 2014 at 04:16 PM.
2nd July 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Sure. But after you flash kdz file with flashtool the phone isn't rooted anyway, although in DLM it states "rooted"...
As I undrstand it, somehow after you flash kitkat kdz it misses some files and status "rooted" appears in DLM. Explained here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2703501

Tapatalk na LgG2
The Following User Says Thank You to jake.the.cake For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 05:35 PM   |  #6  
simon_lefisch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 388
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake.the.cake

Sure. But after you flash kdz file with flashtool the phone isn't rooted anyway, although in DLM it states "rooted"...
As I undrstand it, somehow after you flash kitkat kdz it misses some files and status "rooted" appears in DLM. Explained here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2703501

Tapatalk na LgG2

Interesting. I never had that happen when I used it. I'll keep an eye on this thread in case something's happens. Thanks for sharing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes