Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,085 Members 44,229 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Step backward from the LG G2

Tip us?
 
zeddys
Old
(Last edited by zeddys; 9th July 2014 at 12:31 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jul 2005
I bought the 32gb, 3gb ram version from Amazon DE. I watched a lot of review sites and they generally praised the phone and said the performance was good. Here my initial thoughts:

-- the screen is too warm and makes everything look dull when compared to LG G2
-- Performance is very poor compared to the LG G2, G2 is snappy in comparison
-- animations, scrolling etc are running at 10-15fps or it seems. Compared to the LG G2, its buttery on the G2. Im a sucker for smooth animations
-- launching app - for some reasons there is a noticeable delay - that was rare on the G2
-- battery poor compared to the LG G2
-- games suffer from low frame rates compared to the LG G2.
-- youtube chrome cast bug - not a problem on G2 - means I'm unable to use me chromecast now. Bugger..
-- and the phone gets too hot..
-- hissing when using AUX output in car.

Antutu show the G3 as having lower performance them the G2.

I sold my G2 and feel like have just been robbed by LG. Yes, i loved the G2 and was expecting more of the same.

All this at the cost of having a quad hd screen - a marketing spec stunt, processor is marginally better then G2 on paper and GPU is the same as the G2. In real terms a massive step backwards in almost all regards.

I feel ****...
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to zeddys For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Spewy1
Old
#2  
Spewy1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 193
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
I have to agree in part.
I love this phone but it is clear that there are some steps backward.
The battery and slickness are my two main concerns.
However I LOVE the camera which is a substantial improvement.

I love the screen at 100% but it only takes about 3mins use before this gets throttled to 90%

The removable battery is a great idea in theory but I cannot find anywhere to buy a spare so what's the point?

The sd card is important to me and is probably the main reason I upgraded. If the G2 had a card slot I doubt I would have changed.

I am hoping many problems can be resolved in an update but I am getting the impression that LG are not the quickest with firmware updates - fingers crossed!
 
_Infamous_
Old
#3  
_Infamous_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 342
Posts: 944
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Carson city

 
DONATE TO ME
I have been reading too that it takes a week for the g3 to learn you use and battery life improves and I just hope the us models are better or they release a update to fix this issues

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
twoeleven99
Old
#4  
twoeleven99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 1,126
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NYC/TAMPA
You should return it and get your $

Purity Nexus 5
 
Spewy1
Old
#5  
Spewy1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 193
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
I have had mine over a week now and sot has maybe improved from 2hrs to 2hrs 30mins. Not enough of an improvement. I really want sot to last at least 3hrs 30 mins to see me through a full day of my usage.
I have read that to disable the permissions for the McAfee App will give significant improvements. I have just done this tonight so I will report back tomorrow if there is any improvement.
 
vimto25
Old
#6  
vimto25's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 791
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burton-On-Trent,UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewy1 View Post
I have had mine over a week now and sot has maybe improved from 2hrs to 2hrs 30mins. Not enough of an improvement. I really want sot to last at least 3hrs 30 mins to see me through a full day of my usage.
I have read that to disable the permissions for the McAfee App will give significant improvements. I have just done this tonight so I will report back tomorrow if there is any improvement.
How have you done this?
 
Spewy1
Old
(Last edited by Spewy1; 7th July 2014 at 10:03 PM.)
#7  
Spewy1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 193
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Settings - security - phone administrators

Then you can force stop in apps.
 
gortz
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewy1 View Post
Settings - security - phone administrators

Then you can force stop in apps.
I cant do that. Mcafee is greyed out. Was your that as well?
 
Spewy1
Old
#9  
Spewy1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 193
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
It was greyed out until I unticked the permissions in security , then when I returned to the app I was able to force stop.
 
LBTaylor1984
Old
#10  
LBTaylor1984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 902
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by vimto25 View Post
How have you done this?
my screen on time sits at nearly 4 hours, what are you doing?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes