Post Reply

3rd party launchers and Qhd display

10th July 2014, 07:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I'm a big supporter of Nova Launcher and was wondering if I were to use it on the G3, would the icons, menu and what not support lgs Qhd display? Also what about icon packs?

I won't have mine until the 17th (Verizon), So I can't test it out.

Thanks!

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
10th July 2014, 10:26 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I'm using Nova Launcher Prime with "LG G3 Go Apex Nova ADW Theme" Icon pack - https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ylab.lgg3theme

DPI set at 540.

Icon Size set at 130%

See for yourself, but I think it looks great.

Here is an external link in case image uploads on here get resized or compressed - http://postimg.org/image/7356j4dl3/

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-07-10 09.21.52.jpg
Views:	681
Size:	253.4 KB
ID:	2843616  
Last edited by munkiii; 10th July 2014 at 10:29 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to munkiii For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th July 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by munkiii

I'm using Nova Launcher Prime with "LG G3 Go Apex Nova ADW Theme" Icon pack - https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ylab.lgg3theme

DPI set at 540.

Icon Size set at 130%

See for yourself, but I think it looks great.

Here is an external link in case image uploads on here get resized or compressed - http://postimg.org/image/7356j4dl3/

what about your app drawer? i have the same dpi setting, icon size at 85% and running on nova now. but my app drawer contains a lot of android icons, mostly system pre-loaded apps.

see the pic:

how can i replace the androids with icons? thanks!
11th July 2014, 04:52 AM   |  #4  
3UR0TR45H's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bellingham
Thanks Meter: 95
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Nova runs beautifully on my G3 and quite a bit smoother than the stock LG launcher. However, the LG launcher is very good and there is a lot of customization available.

One thing I've noticed about the QHD display is that it exposes apps with low-res icons. Nova doesn't display these icons any better, but if you use an icon pack with QHD support, you can expect crystal clarity.

The buttery Nova animations with this amount of Ram, SOC & display = WOW!!!
11th July 2014, 05:21 AM   |  #5  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,887
 
1,157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skade

what about your app drawer? i have the same dpi setting, icon size at 85% and running on nova now. but my app drawer contains a lot of android icons, mostly system pre-loaded apps.

see the pic:

how can i replace the androids with icons? thanks!

Install the beta version of nova and all will be right.
11th July 2014, 07:05 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by munkiii

I'm using Nova Launcher Prime with "LG G3 Go Apex Nova ADW Theme" Icon pack - https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ylab.lgg3theme

DPI set at 540.

Icon Size set at 130%

See for yourself, but I think it looks great.

Here is an external link in case image uploads on here get resized or compressed - http://postimg.org/image/7356j4dl3/

To change Dpi, don't you have to be rooted?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
11th July 2014, 10:11 AM   |  #7  
ant78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 103
 
699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Guido85

To change Dpi, don't you have to be rooted?

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Yes you do and an app called texdroid from the Google store
11th July 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skin1980

Install the beta version of nova and all will be right.

Im using the paid version of nova. Is there a beta version of nova on the play store? I can only see one version of it, plus the full paid unlock.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
11th July 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Guys what are you losing when switching to Nova from Stock? Only knock to sleep?

AFAIK you can set Nova to update to beta version in its settings.
11th July 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #10  
KiNG OMaR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 406
 
1,656 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DforDesign

Guys what are you losing when switching to Nova from Stock? Only knock to sleep?

AFAIK you can set Nova to update to beta version in its settings.

You lose the LG widgets also

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank