Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Some system apps not working after resolution change

OP GroovyGeek

11th July 2014, 06:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
560 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
This is for the D850 AT&T G3. I used Nomone to set resolution to 1080x1920 @ 480 dpi and observe two weird things:

1) Everything but the dock rescales correctly. This persists even after reboot and only happens in the stock launcher, Nova is OK

2) Several of the stock apps no loger work, and their icons change to generic Androids: calculator, calendar, clockemail, file manager, gallery, messaging, quick remote, tasks, voice command. Any attempt to launch these apps results in a FC. This happens both in the stock launcher and Nova, so I am guessing that they do not rescale correctly at the lower res.

Not a great loss, I would not be using most of these anyway, just curious if there is a workaround. I do not plan on running the monitor at more than 1080x1920. The only thing I will probably miss is the stock email app, I was planning on using that to access office mail via Exchange.

EDIT: Unfortunately it appears that I cannot set up an Exchange account with the lower res, on account of the stock app crashing instantly. This is a complete deal breaker for me, I absolutely need exchange and will need to run at full rez. Bummer, with the bootloader locked I probably can't downfreq the phone either to extend battery life.

EDIT2: You can work around every non-functioning LG app by sideloading the corresponding Kitkat stock app. Unfortunately the one exception to this is Email + Exchange, which is badly broken on stock Kitkat and Google has not bothered to fix it for many months now. For those of us that need Exchange for work this tends to be a deal-breaker issue

EDIT3: As others have noted, Swiftkey does not seem to play well with Nomone either

EDIT4: Nova is also exhbiting some minor issues, with our without Nomone. It does not break too many things, and the things it does break are mostly cosmetic - the icons of the above-mentioned apps turn generic, and the first group of Google apps in the drawer disappeears.
Last edited by GroovyGeek; 11th July 2014 at 10:20 AM.
11th July 2014, 08:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag CWB
Thanks Meter: 13
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
I changed the resolution, rebooted and got an android systemui fc loop that I couldn't get out of. had to factory reset
I then tried it again on a fresh device but wihtout rebooting this time. and like you said, a lot of things are not right...

so I'd say this is generally not recommendable
best bet might be paranoid android or something whenever that becomes possible

I agree, the display is draining the batt too quickly and I doubt underclocking the cpu is going to be of much help
11th July 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Did you try changing the dpi from 480 to 530? Anything less than 500 dpi seems to force close most apps.. Change it to 530 dpi and hopefully most things should run ok
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to adrian_nene16 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th July 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag CWB
Thanks Meter: 13
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian_nene16

Did you try changing the dpi from 480 to 530? Anything less than 500 dpi seems to force close most apps.. Change it to 530 dpi and hopefully most things should run ok

will try that, thanks
11th July 2014, 11:32 AM   |  #5  
FordT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
With the changed resolution I'll assume that you're rooted. You could use XPosed with the "App Settings" Module to change the DPI for the crashing system apps back to 640. I did this, and it works nicely. It is a bit of try and error in the beginning, but once you caught all apps you use it looks great.

This will probably not solve the icons issue, which is caused by LG not including the icons for other resolutions than what they recommend for the G3. They are available for xxxhdpi (640), but not for xxhdpi (480).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FordT For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th July 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #6  
latino147's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rotterdam
Thanks Meter: 178
 
1,259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordT

With the changed resolution I'll assume that you're rooted. You could use XPosed with the "App Settings" Module to change the DPI for the crashing system apps back to 640. I did this, and it works nicely. It is a bit of try and error in the beginning, but once you caught all apps you use it looks great.

This will probably not solve the icons issue, which is caused by LG not including the icons for other resolutions than what they recommend for the G3. They are available for xxxhdpi (640), but not for xxhdpi (480).

I'm running 530 without issues sofar. Would love to be able to go a bit lower though.
11th July 2014, 01:38 PM   |  #7  
yoavst's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ramat Gan
Thanks Meter: 292
 
467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Does the Lockscreen works to you on lower then 640dpi?
11th July 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by latino147

I'm running 530 without issues sofar. Would love to be able to go a bit lower though.


How's your battery life so far, do you notice anything?
11th July 2014, 08:43 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
560 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Thanks for the tips and replies, many of them quite useful. Running 530dpi with 1080x1920 is, IMO, kinda pointless, as it negates the benefits if the large screen., If we need to stick about 530 dpi (which seems to work nicely) the lowest settings that make sense are 1224x2176 with 544 dpi setting. This scales everything down by 25% from full resolution. With these settings I don't see the screen get notably warm and the icon and text proportions still make sense. With 1080x1920 @ 530 dpi things don't make any sense, it feels like you are using a 3" screen with high magnification.

So far there are only three things I have been unable to get working
1) Nova launcher to correctly display the custom icons for the above apps. Apex works fine so I have switched from Nova to Apex.
2) Swiftkey - it just gets mangled badly. I will try the "per app" setting in xPosed, but I can't see how it will help.
3) Kitkat stock email.apk with Exchange. This is a long-standing KitKat issue that Google has not bothered to fix. The LG mail works fine with Exchange but does not thread. Any good alternatives?
12th July 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #10  
latino147's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rotterdam
Thanks Meter: 178
 
1,259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian_nene16

How's your battery life so far, do you notice anything?

don't know, went back to the default resolution as too much stuff was off, like Swiftkey

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes