T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

Best place to buy unlocked

OP webdevoman

30th August 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #1  
webdevoman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Hey all,

I'm looking to buy this non contract to use with my Tmob $30 5gig plan.

I was looking for the best price and was wondering if it would be possible to get a better deal buying this outright from a carrier and unlocking it myself or if I should get it somewhere else, amazon or something.

I'm also confused by the models as I believe I've seen some with 3 gigs of ram and some with less. I would like to get the best model available, most ram and storage.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rich

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
30th August 2014, 04:03 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I bought mine from www.blackwireless.com and got within 2 days. Phone is international unlocked version without bloatware.
30th August 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
That international unlocked version still has a locked boot loader. Also, this is the 16gig, 2gig ram version - not the 32gig, 3gig ram version. Plus it costs $649 for that version without the SquareTrade warranty.

If I were you I would try to get a 32gig/3gig model from T-Mobile because that is the only one without a locked bootloader. I think the full price from T-Mobile is similar or a bit cheaper even, and that phone will run with about any GSM sim chip just by plugging it in and maybe changing the APN.
31st August 2014, 02:47 AM   |  #4  
webdevoman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Cool. Thanks guys

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
31st August 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #5  
webdevoman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Wow! Your right! Only $598! I've seen that model for over $700!

I think I'm going to wait a little bit if I can though but not sure. I may just grab this. I don't think I should have an issue using my T-Mobile off contract Sim.

Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
31st August 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #6  
DroidApprentice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
775 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
You also will not get any wifi calling if you buy a non T-mobile phone, and that's an important feature IMO that's impossible to add layer.
31st August 2014, 06:24 AM   |  #7  
webdevoman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
WiFi calling! Cool! Don't have that with the nexus 4!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank