Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,866 Members 50,740 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Extreme slow speeds, anyone else have the same issue?

Tip us?
 
Mistwalker
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 73
Join Date: Jan 2009
Question [Q] Extreme slow speeds, anyone else have the same issue?

Hi! New and proud owner of the new LG G3! Been using Samsung Galaxy from the first Galaxy to the S4. Thought I should Level Up Actually, tired of them.

Anyway, very satisfied, but I get extreme slow speeds with my G3. With my S4 I get around 30-40Mbit on 4G. I've never even seen the 4G icon on the G3. And my speeds are insanly slow. 0.97Mbit down and 0.06Mbit up!

Check out my Ookla Speedtest result. What's your speed? http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/887050990

Is there any new or other modem I can try?
I've been looking around but it's a fresh phone, so I guess there aren't so much to get a hold on atm?
I have the International model of the D855, 32Gb/3Gb ram
.
I live in Sweden, using Telenor. Never had any problems before.
Samsung Galaxy S III - Omega ROM
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 - AOSP Jelly Bean


Samsung Galaxy S II - Third backup phone
Samsung Galaxy S - Darky's ROM - Phone now serves as a second backup
HTC HD2 - NAND Android
Samsung Omnia HD
Samsung Omnia i900
Nokia N95
Nokia 7710
Motorola A1000
 
radicalisto
Old
#2  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,409
Posts: 3,491
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: York

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistwalker View Post
Hi! New and proud owner of the new LG G3! Been using Samsung Galaxy from the first Galaxy to the S4. Thought I should Level Up Actually, tired of them.

Anyway, very satisfied, but I get extreme slow speeds with my G3. With my S4 I get around 30-40Mbit on 4G. I've never even seen the 4G icon on the G3. And my speeds are insanly slow. 0.97Mbit down and 0.06Mbit up!

Check out my Ookla Speedtest result. What's your speed? http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/887050990

Is there any new or other modem I can try?
I've been looking around but it's a fresh phone, so I guess there aren't so much to get a hold on atm?
I have the International model of the D855, 32Gb/3Gb ram
.
I live in Sweden, using Telenor. Never had any problems before.
Potentially need to flash the right firmware onto your device, is yours currently V10A-EUR.XX? if so, maybe have alook in the general thread for euro regions (or even your carrier fw)

---------- Post added at 04:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:51 PM ----------

Here is the firmware thread
// LG G3 (D855) // Stock // Stock //

S3(White) > M7(Red) > Note 3(Black) > Nexus 5(Black) > M8(Gunmetal) > LG G3 (Titan Grey)
 
Tectas
Old
#3  
Tectas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,124
Posts: 2,950
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Graz

 
DONATE TO ME
 



Here's mine hsdpa only while syncing in the background, you should check if it's provider related or if it's your device.

Gesendet von meinem LG-D855 mit Tapatalk
 
theraker007
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 547
Join Date: Jul 2012
I know AT&T told me i need to call them when I get the phone to update my IMEI # or whatever to ensure proper data speeds. Maybe you need to do that for your particular carrier?
 
radicalisto
Old
#5  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,409
Posts: 3,491
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: York

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIKI LTE BANDS
Net4Mobility Sweden 900 8 FDD (?) [328][470]
Net4Mobility Sweden 1800 3 FDD (?) [391]
Net4Mobility Sweden 2600 7 FDD November 2010 [470][471]
According to this, your device supports Telenor (owned by Net4Mobility) - I'd suggest giving them a call to see if 4G/LTE needs activated.
// LG G3 (D855) // Stock // Stock //

S3(White) > M7(Red) > Note 3(Black) > Nexus 5(Black) > M8(Gunmetal) > LG G3 (Titan Grey)
 
luanb
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2014
Try to change Sim. I had the same problem

Inviato dal mio HTC One_M8 utilizzando Tapatalk
 
K_Hismoom
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 538
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aachen
Attached is my speedtest on HSDPA+.
Your slow speeds are not normal, could be your SIM or maybe the current modem is not ideal for Telenor.
If I were you I would try a different SIM first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	QuickMemo+_2014-07-11-11-50-56.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	243.7 KB
ID:	2845455  

LG G3 D855 16GB
★ V10j-214-07 ★ KVT49L.A1407411578 ★ Root ★

Parrot ASTEROID Smart
★ Android 2.3.7 ★ Firmware 2.1.9 ★ Root ★

LG G3 | Sony Xperia Z2 | Samsung Galaxy S3 | Samsung Galaxy S2 | HTC HD2 | HTC Touch HD | HTC Touch Diamond | HTC Wizard 200 | Siemens SX1 | Siemens SL55 | Siemens C25
 
raw2000j
Old
#8  
raw2000j's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 1,372
Join Date: Aug 2007
Did you set your APN according to your carrier?
 
tj_ona
Old
#9  
tj_ona's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 112
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
I am getting super slow speeds too. They told me to take the phone back and get it replaced. They said that its an issue with some of the new G3s.
Check out my comedy podcast, Does This Hold Up, on iTunes or over at http://doesthisholdup.podbean.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more