FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Can you download the same app twice?

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By cloudepic, Junior Member on 17th October 2014, 06:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I would like to have 2 of the same apps installed. With different loggins. Is that possible? Current I have to log out of my old one, then log in another one. It's a pain. Plz help
The Following User Says Thank You to cloudepic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
17th October 2014, 07:18 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Cape Town
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
I think so long as the package name is the same you're out of luck. You may be able To install the same app from both Google play and humble bundle for example as packages are usually different, but that's about it unless you start tinkering with the apk.

Sent from my LG-D855
The Following User Says Thank You to cooldoud For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th October 2014, 01:44 AM |#3  
hwong96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudepic

I would like to have 2 of the same apps installed. With different loggins. Is that possible? Current I have to log out of my old one, then log in another one. It's a pain. Plz help

No it's not possible. Unless, you are rooted and modify build.prop to enable multi-user. Then you can add the same app in the other user(s).
The Following User Says Thank You to hwong96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th October 2014, 01:57 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Any info on how to that. I can root my phone. That pretty easy. But the other part.
Greatly appreciated.
18th October 2014, 02:08 AM |#5  
hwong96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudepic

Any info on how to that. I can root my phone. That pretty easy. But the other part.
Greatly appreciated.

The build.prop edit is not difficult. Once rooted, open build.prop with a root file explorer of your choice and add the following line at the very end:

fw.max_users=2

This is how the multi-user function gets added to tablets. I haven't tried it on phones, so back up your build.prop and let us know how it works out.
Have you tried logging into the app in guest mode while signed into the app as the device owner? That may work also.
18th October 2014, 04:21 AM |#6  
if4ct0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
Donate to Me
More
This involves a bit of modding, but I think this is what you want:

http://swapmyapp.com/how-to/run-mult...es-of-one-app/
19th October 2014, 03:03 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thx guys it will try both of these things. It's for clash of clan game. Idk if it will work but I will try.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes