Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to update with root?

OP Tabinhu

1st September 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I rooted my LG G3 (D855) and now I cant install updates

I get something similar to this:



How can I update my firmware now?
1st September 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #2  
deadlyheart4u's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 61
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Unroot then update and root again
1st September 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadlyheart4u

Unroot then update and root again

Is that my only option?
How can I unroot without losing all the stuff i got in my phone?

EDIT: gonna try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...te-pc-t2802286
Last edited by Tabinhu; 1st September 2014 at 10:48 PM.
1st September 2014, 11:08 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Can I use this to flash with root?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...highlight=root
2nd September 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #5  
Pilz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Middle of nowhere
Thanks Meter: 379
 
1,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
I took an update with root on my F460S. I didn't unroot, and it worked fine.
2nd September 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilz

I took an update with root on my F460S. I didn't unroot, and it worked fine.

How did you do it?
2nd September 2014, 03:20 PM   |  #7  
Pilz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Middle of nowhere
Thanks Meter: 379
 
1,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabinhu

How did you do it?

I just hit update and it worked. I rooted via stumproot (brute force) and it still took the OTA. I don't know why it did without errors, I am using rootcloaker with xposed which may have blocked the OTA from seeing it was rooted.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes