Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,161 Members 51,895 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to update with root?

Tip us?
 
Tabinhu
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default [Q] How to update with root?

I rooted my LG G3 (D855) and now I cant install updates

I get something similar to this:



How can I update my firmware now?
 
deadlyheart4u
Old
#2  
deadlyheart4u's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 471
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Kolkata

 
DONATE TO ME
Unroot then update and root again
Cheers,
Aditya Bhimrajka

CEO, SimTechnos.in
Web|Apps|Seo|Mobile
-----------------------------
 
Tabinhu
Old
(Last edited by Tabinhu; 1st September 2014 at 09:48 PM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadlyheart4u View Post
Unroot then update and root again
Is that my only option?
How can I unroot without losing all the stuff i got in my phone?

EDIT: gonna try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...te-pc-t2802286
 
Tabinhu
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Mar 2013
Can I use this to flash with root?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...highlight=root
 
Pilz
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 825
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central Vortex
I took an update with root on my F460S. I didn't unroot, and it worked fine.

iPhone 3GS
iPad 1
iPhone 4
Samsung Galaxy S3
Kindle Fire
Samsung Note 3
LG G-Pad 8.3
LG G3 F400S

Lg G3 D850
LG G3 F460S
Nexus 7 (2013)
 
Tabinhu
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilz View Post
I took an update with root on my F460S. I didn't unroot, and it worked fine.
How did you do it?
 
Pilz
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 825
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central Vortex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabinhu View Post
How did you do it?
I just hit update and it worked. I rooted via stumproot (brute force) and it still took the OTA. I don't know why it did without errors, I am using rootcloaker with xposed which may have blocked the OTA from seeing it was rooted.

iPhone 3GS
iPad 1
iPhone 4
Samsung Galaxy S3
Kindle Fire
Samsung Note 3
LG G-Pad 8.3
LG G3 F400S

Lg G3 D850
LG G3 F460S
Nexus 7 (2013)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more

Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more

Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more