Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] LG G3 D855 4G LTE issues on T-Mobile USA

OP darkelfx

6th August 2014, 08:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hello everyone,

I just got my LG G3 today and I'm encountering an issue getting 4G LTE on my D855 (international version) on the T-Mobile US network. I looked around and searched the forums to find a solution to this 4G LTE problem specific to this phone. I tried going into the hidden menu (3485#*855#) and changing the bands and such, nothing works. I haven't rooted my phone or flashed anything yet, as I haven't found any tutorial in which doing so would resolve this issue for this specific model.

I do get HSPA on it, which gives me about 7mbps, much slower than I anticipated.

Does it mean that I won't get 4G LTE at all? I will be in Hong Kong for a few months and was wondering if I would get 4G LTE there on T-Mobile using this phone since it's the international version and they do offer 4G LTE over there. Anyone know if it works over there?

If there are no solutions, I might just sell the phone and get a different model that works.

I'm located in Southern California if that helps anyone.
Last edited by darkelfx; 6th August 2014 at 08:29 AM.
6th August 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #2  
beats4x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 655
 
786 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
@darkelfx, you need to check which LTE bands that model runs off of, and see if T-Mobile uses those. I work for tmo, and we did a lot of work on our network to make it more compatible with unlocked devices, however, I know that since there is a difference in the bands att uses, their devices do not pick up our LTE 90% of the time. They get HSPA+, just like you do.
6th August 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
These are the bands being used and my version is the international version (not the AT&T version).

2G Network: GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network: HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network: LTE 700 / 800 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2300 / 2600

I do not get HSDPA+, I get the slower 3G speed, which is HSDPA.
6th August 2014, 09:43 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkelfx

These are the bands being used and my version is the international version (not the AT&T version).

2G Network: GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network: HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network: LTE 700 / 800 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2300 / 2600

I do not get HSDPA+, I get the slower 3G speed, which is HSDPA.

for 3g you need to have 1700mhz as well
for 4g they use a combo 1700/2100 or AWS is the nickname.

Sorry to say but the D855 is NOT compatible with any U.S. LTE bands.
7th August 2014, 04:05 PM   |  #5  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xryousukex

for 3g you need to have 1700mhz as well
for 4g they use a combo 1700/2100 or AWS is the nickname.

Sorry to say but the D855 is NOT compatible with any U.S. LTE bands.

Yeah, I found this out as well researching the G3 before buying any of the variants for use on Tmo. None of the variants, outside of the 851, will work on Tmo's LTE. You'll get voice and 3G (HSPA), but not LTE connections with TMo.

As for getting LTE in HK, it won't be on Tmo's network, as Tmo does not have any networks in HK. You might get data roaming and all, but I haven't looked too much into that as I don't do much international travel. You would connect under a roaming partner there, if there are any under agreement.

Or you could swap in another SIM for use in HK.
28th October 2014, 08:43 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
This worked for me.
I had exactly the same problem.
Watch this video on YouTube for the G2, follow the instructions and it will work.
/watch?v=bSrtUw8D9_w
//swinefever

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkelfx

Hello everyone,

I just got my LG G3 today and I'm encountering an issue getting 4G LTE on my D855 (international version) on the T-Mobile US network. I looked around and searched the forums to find a solution to this 4G LTE problem specific to this phone. I tried going into the hidden menu (3485#*855#) and changing the bands and such, nothing works. I haven't rooted my phone or flashed anything yet, as I haven't found any tutorial in which doing so would resolve this issue for this specific model.

I do get HSPA on it, which gives me about 7mbps, much slower than I anticipated.

Does it mean that I won't get 4G LTE at all? I will be in Hong Kong for a few months and was wondering if I would get 4G LTE there on T-Mobile using this phone since it's the international version and they do offer 4G LTE over there. Anyone know if it works over there?

If there are no solutions, I might just sell the phone and get a different model that works.

I'm located in Southern California if that helps anyone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes