FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[Q] LG G3 D855 4G LTE issues on T-Mobile USA

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By darkelfx, Junior Member on 6th August 2014, 07:24 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello everyone,

I just got my LG G3 today and I'm encountering an issue getting 4G LTE on my D855 (international version) on the T-Mobile US network. I looked around and searched the forums to find a solution to this 4G LTE problem specific to this phone. I tried going into the hidden menu (3485#*855#) and changing the bands and such, nothing works. I haven't rooted my phone or flashed anything yet, as I haven't found any tutorial in which doing so would resolve this issue for this specific model.

I do get HSPA on it, which gives me about 7mbps, much slower than I anticipated.

Does it mean that I won't get 4G LTE at all? I will be in Hong Kong for a few months and was wondering if I would get 4G LTE there on T-Mobile using this phone since it's the international version and they do offer 4G LTE over there. Anyone know if it works over there?

If there are no solutions, I might just sell the phone and get a different model that works.

I'm located in Southern California if that helps anyone.
Last edited by darkelfx; 6th August 2014 at 07:29 AM.
 
 
6th August 2014, 04:23 PM |#2  
beats4x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 695
 
More
@darkelfx, you need to check which LTE bands that model runs off of, and see if T-Mobile uses those. I work for tmo, and we did a lot of work on our network to make it more compatible with unlocked devices, however, I know that since there is a difference in the bands att uses, their devices do not pick up our LTE 90% of the time. They get HSPA+, just like you do.
6th August 2014, 05:38 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
These are the bands being used and my version is the international version (not the AT&T version).

2G Network: GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network: HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network: LTE 700 / 800 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2300 / 2600

I do not get HSDPA+, I get the slower 3G speed, which is HSDPA.
6th August 2014, 08:43 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkelfx

These are the bands being used and my version is the international version (not the AT&T version).

2G Network: GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network: HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network: LTE 700 / 800 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2300 / 2600

I do not get HSDPA+, I get the slower 3G speed, which is HSDPA.

for 3g you need to have 1700mhz as well
for 4g they use a combo 1700/2100 or AWS is the nickname.

Sorry to say but the D855 is NOT compatible with any U.S. LTE bands.
7th August 2014, 03:05 PM |#5  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xryousukex

for 3g you need to have 1700mhz as well
for 4g they use a combo 1700/2100 or AWS is the nickname.

Sorry to say but the D855 is NOT compatible with any U.S. LTE bands.

Yeah, I found this out as well researching the G3 before buying any of the variants for use on Tmo. None of the variants, outside of the 851, will work on Tmo's LTE. You'll get voice and 3G (HSPA), but not LTE connections with TMo.

As for getting LTE in HK, it won't be on Tmo's network, as Tmo does not have any networks in HK. You might get data roaming and all, but I haven't looked too much into that as I don't do much international travel. You would connect under a roaming partner there, if there are any under agreement.

Or you could swap in another SIM for use in HK.
The Following User Says Thank You to JustLok For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th October 2014, 07:43 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This worked for me.
I had exactly the same problem.
Watch this video on YouTube for the G2, follow the instructions and it will work.
/watch?v=bSrtUw8D9_w
//swinefever

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkelfx

Hello everyone,

I just got my LG G3 today and I'm encountering an issue getting 4G LTE on my D855 (international version) on the T-Mobile US network. I looked around and searched the forums to find a solution to this 4G LTE problem specific to this phone. I tried going into the hidden menu (3485#*855#) and changing the bands and such, nothing works. I haven't rooted my phone or flashed anything yet, as I haven't found any tutorial in which doing so would resolve this issue for this specific model.

I do get HSPA on it, which gives me about 7mbps, much slower than I anticipated.

Does it mean that I won't get 4G LTE at all? I will be in Hong Kong for a few months and was wondering if I would get 4G LTE there on T-Mobile using this phone since it's the international version and they do offer 4G LTE over there. Anyone know if it works over there?

If there are no solutions, I might just sell the phone and get a different model that works.

I'm located in Southern California if that helps anyone.

11th June 2015, 06:53 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi, I use LG G3 D855 and looking for solution to get LTE on T-Mobile USA. After some research inside the forum, I decided to try to use CyanogenMod (CM 12.1) on my system.
It works well and now I can enjoy LTE on T-Mobile network, even though not pretty stable yet, but I am good with that since the OS still ongoing development.
You can try to download the OS on Cyanogen official website, and use the latest update available.
In order to confirm if you get LTE signal, beside check on your LTE sign, you can use LTE Discovery apps whenever you lost LTE connection and try to reconnect on an LTE signal.
Oh, forgot to mention, I am located in College Station, TX.
Last edited by armantos0278; 11th June 2015 at 06:56 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes