Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Differenve between EUR and SEA version - samw d855 model

OP Wikh

29th August 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hy!

I just bought a new phone and wanted to find out if there are any differences compared to the EUR version?
The model number is the same - it looks like everything is the same except at the software updates: its v10I-SEA-XX not v10g-EUR-XX.

The only difference I found is that the updates are arriving earlier.

Can somebody confirm the differences please?

Thanks!
29th August 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikh

Hy!

I just bought a new phone and wanted to find out if there are any differences compared to the EUR version?
The model number is the same - it looks like everything is the same except at the software updates: its v10I-SEA-XX not v10g-EUR-XX.

The only difference I found is that the updates are arriving earlier.

Can somebody confirm the differences please?

Thanks!

My SEA version did not give the option to operate on UK LTE networks.
29th August 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jah

My SEA version did not give the option to operate on UK LTE networks.

Thank you!

Well I live in 2 countries and neither of them has LTE coverage in the whole country.

And since 100mb, 500mb or the max is 1gb bundle everywhere I dont feel that I need LTE. My internet is always running out even with 3g.

Any other diffrrence?
29th August 2014, 08:17 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikh

Thank you!

Well I live in 2 countries and neither of them has LTE coverage in the whole country.

And since 100mb, 500mb or the max is 1gb bundle everywhere I dont feel that I need LTE. My internet is always running out even with 3g.

Any other diffrrence?

No other technical differences from what I remember. I only the Euro version now.
30th August 2014, 08:21 AM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Leicester
Thanks Meter: 4
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jah

My SEA version did not give the option to operate on UK LTE networks.

Hi Jah

There is a work round to this you can access the hidden menu

Dial *#*#4636#*#* and on preferred network type, choose lte/gsm/wcdma

This way you can get 4G without having to mod or root the phone.

I am pretty happy with stock at the moment. I think you need to reset it each time you reboot but to be honest not having to do that very often either.

I hope that this helps

Kaid
30th August 2014, 08:25 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaidM

Hi Jah

There is a work round to this you can access the hidden menu

Dial *#*#4636#*#* and on preferred network type, choose lte/gsm/wcdma

This way you can get 4G without having to mod or root the phone.

I am pretty happy with stock at the moment. I think you need to reset it each time you reboot but to be honest not having to do that very often either.

I hope that this helps

Kaid

Yes also with magic menu 3845#*855# but once you restart you need to use the magic menu again as it lost LTE connection. Also this version is not covered by European LG warranty.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes