How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mobile Data Stops Working - Requires Reboot

OP biglilsteve

22nd July 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglilsteve

I never noticed the issue the first day. Give it couple days and see how things go for you.

i've been manhandling the phone all day. no dropped data or calls at all besides the usual dead zones. I'm in Northern NJ so service is pretty solid up here.
22nd August 2014, 06:57 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
same
I'm in singapore - had same issue. No 3G/4G data. Calls ok, wifi ok. A reboot fixes the issue.
22nd August 2014, 09:19 AM   |  #13  
deadlyheart4u's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 61
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Yes same happens here in india
22nd August 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #14  
Member
Flag Rockville, MD
Thanks Meter: 4
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Not On G3, But Previous Phones
I had this happen occasionally on a Droid RAZR., Always assumed it was something between the phone and the network. It only happened every couple months and a reboot always fixed the issue. Haven't had it happen on the G3. Live near Washington DC. Pretty good coverage.
22nd August 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #15  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
This is seen on the T-Mobile D851 variant as well.

One way that fixes the data issue is to enable Airplane Mode and then disable it (immediate enable and then disable does it, no wait time for a reset). Fixes the loss of the data connection with no reboot required.

You can try that and see if works as well.
22nd August 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Fast Dormancy?
I wonder whether disabling fast dormancy would resolve the issue? If your mobile data provider does not implement fast dormancy then it needs to be disabled on the phone.

I get the fast dormancy option via the hidden menu (3845#*855# on my D855, replace with your model number), then Settings, then Fast Dormancy. Needs a reboot to apply.

You will need to Google if your mobile provider supports fast dormancy.

Worth a try.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes