Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more

UX Design in Apps and ROMs w/ Kevin Bruckert – BABBQ2014

This year’s Big Android BBQ has come and gone. While the whole event was … more

Bring Material Design Goodness to Your App with Support Library

At Google I/O 2014, the next iteration of Android was announced and … more
Post Reply

phone got softbricked after making changes to build.prop

OP deejay6901

27th August 2014, 01:38 PM   |  #1  
deejay6901's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
guys im in deep trouble here. my phone got softbricked after i made changes in build.prop(just changed dpi) using some text editor. after saving the file and restarting the phone. its not turning on, just blue and green led flashing. tried to use the pc suite, and flash tool 2014, but still no success. i can still go to download mode though. hope someone help me here

Sent from my SM-T705 using Tapatalk 2
27th August 2014, 01:54 PM   |  #2  
Pfeffernuss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wassenaar
Thanks Meter: 740
 
2,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deejay6901

guys im in deep trouble here. my phone got softbricked after i made changes in build.prop(just changed dpi) using some text editor. after saving the file and restarting the phone. its not turning on, just blue and green led flashing. tried to use the pc suite, and flash tool 2014, but still no success. i can still go to download mode though. hope someone help me here

Sent from my SM-T705 using Tapatalk 2

Flash Rom using Normal instead of CSE? Next time either read more threads or use a proper editor or even better: a pc to edit build.prop.

Otherwise you can try to adb push original build.prop to your phone but flashing Rom is much easier imho.
27th August 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #3  
deejay6901's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pfeffernuss

Flash Rom using Normal instead of CSE? Next time either read more threads or use a proper editor or even better: a pc to edit build.prop.

Otherwise you can try to adb push original build.prop to your phone but flashing Rom is much easier imho.

i wanted to try and flash a build.prop but dont know how. ive already tried flashing kdz file but didnt work out. actually im not new to this as ive been rooting my phone since s2 days, even when i bought this amazing phone i rooted it right away. but after i update it to 10i, i tried rooting back which worked fine, however when i tried editing the build.prop thsts where this problem comes out.

Sent from my SM-T705 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by deejay6901; 27th August 2014 at 02:31 PM.
27th August 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #4  
JustLok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
You didn't set the permissions right for the prop file, that's why it's stuck in a bootloop.

Permissions are suppose to be rw r r.

Also, modifying via 920 Text Editor or via your PC, then load it back into the phone.
28th August 2014, 05:08 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Could be the editor used did not handle the whole very large build.prop file and truncated when you saved it.
28th August 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #6  
scarecrow2012's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 219
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Follow this guide.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2799647
Read it. You might get Download Fail can not restart to download mode a few times. Keep trying, use different usb ports restart computer, try again, restart phone to download mode. I must have got that message 50 times then all of a sudden it worked. Its a pain but see how it goes. There is another way but it is a pain and involves lots of setup.
Last edited by scarecrow2012; 29th August 2014 at 07:41 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to scarecrow2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2014, 09:53 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Info 2
Check post 202-203:
without flash back after bootloop. (for next time)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...0#post55094520

A warring about build.prop without the right app. (from what dorimanx said ! )
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=171

to find & download your right and last Ver. rom stock by your imei
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2683691


If you chance settings on Build.prop to worng setings you can and will have bootloop.
here are what in that post said about DPI and more...

#Best dpi for G3
#default value 640
ro.sf.lcd_density=560

Source:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...e-ram-t2825693

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2781043

App fot DPI Ch...
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...texdroider_dpi
or
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...shi.dpichanger
Last edited by u1988; 28th August 2014 at 10:19 PM.
29th August 2014, 08:26 AM   |  #8  
deejay6901's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarecrow2012

Follow this guide.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2799647
Read it. You might get Download Fail can not restart to download mode a few times. Keep trying, use different usb ports restart computer, try again, restart phone to download mode. I must have got that message 50 times then all of a sudden it worked. Its a pain but see how it goes. There is another way but it is a pain and involves lots of setup.

yes this did worked for me. i tried to chaged port then suddenly firmware update did run. and now my phone has resurrected back from the dead...

now... back to modding!! hahaha...

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk 2
29th August 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #9  
scarecrow2012's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 219
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deejay6901

yes this did worked for me. i tried to chaged port then suddenly firmware update did run. and now my phone has resurrected back from the dead...

now... back to modding!! hahaha...

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk 2

Congrats, all the best with the modding.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank