Post Reply

Problem with firmware - showing up as HKG?

17th August 2014, 09:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Hey guys I have the UK version of G3 its 855 version

I flashed the 10a Europe firmware and in the settings it showed v10a-HKG-XX
Then I redownloaded the europe firmware and it still showed the same

Then I used my IMEI to check which version is for my device and downloaded that and it still says HKG - at the moment it says v10h-HKG-XX

So is this not a UK version phone, i got it from amazon?
17th August 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 77
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by syphern

Hey guys I have the UK version of G3 its 855 version

I flashed the 10a Europe firmware and in the settings it showed v10a-HKG-XX
Then I redownloaded the europe firmware and it still showed the same

Then I used my IMEI to check which version is for my device and downloaded that and it still says HKG - at the moment it says v10h-HKG-XX

So is this not a UK version phone, i got it from amazon?

If less than 14 days I recommend you contact Amazon customer services and request a replacement. Even if bought from Amazon market place. You may find as I did with a Singapore version I received, that I could not get LTE connectivity. The firmware is tied the IMEI.
17th August 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jah

If less than 14 days I recommend you contact Amazon customer services and request a replacement. Even if bought from Amazon market place. You may find as I did with a Singapore version I received, that I could not get LTE connectivity. The firmware is tied the IMEI.

that was indeed the case thank you so much - amazon accepted it back for a full refund - back to my nexus 5... was a nice run with G3
17th August 2014, 11:48 AM   |  #4  
DT39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Midlands
Thanks Meter: 10
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Hey Syphern, Sounds like the same one i had. Was it from SkynetShopping [emoji12] saying it was uk version and stock held and sent by Amazon? I had one the other day. Set it up and let it do it's updates then checked the version and it said hkg not eur versions, I also had no 4g.
I called LG support which where very helpful and i told them the imei to which they confirmed it was a none UK handset and would have no warranty cover!
Sent it straight back for refund and went in to Carphone warehouse and got one which is all good. [emoji3]
The Following User Says Thank You to DT39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th August 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DT39

Hey Syphern, Sounds like the same one i had. Was it from SkynetShopping [emoji12] saying it was uk version and stock held and sent by Amazon? I had one the other day. Set it up and let it do it's updates then checked the version and it said hkg not eur versions, I also had no 4g.
I called LG support which where very helpful and i told them the imei to which they confirmed it was a none UK handset and would have no warranty cover!
Sent it straight back for refund and went in to Carphone warehouse and got one which is all good. [emoji3]

thats the seller skynetshopping - scammers... im going to leave a negative review after i get my refund back... not nice going through all this hassle... lol i quite liked the g3
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank