5,814,797 Members 51,650 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rid me of thou

Tip us?
 
stinson317
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Rid me of thou

I am loving my rooted G3. I am, however, increasing annoyed by "thou" showing up almost every time I swype " you". Is there anyway thou can think of to remove this cursed word for the word list.
 
nobnut
Old
#2  
nobnut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,451
Posts: 6,421
Join Date: Feb 2010
I don't use the stock keyboard, you could either elect to use a third party keyboard, or maybe see if you can edit the dicitonary in the stock offering. I found this link for you (personal dictionary) but have no idea if it works on the G3 as I have removed all of that garbage from my phone.

Never, ever conform
IOHWIRI
 
4ndroid99
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 168
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New York
Try swiftkey or swype instead.
AT&T LG G3 -- stock, rooted
Amazon Kindle Fire -- CyanogenMod 11
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S 4 -- Google Edition ROM 4.4.4 -- retired
 
RichardW1992
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2013
I don't have an issue with Thou popping up in place of You. But instead nearly everytime I type the word "and" it replaces it with "abd"

wtf does abd even commonly stand for?

I've tried checking the default keyboard settings and dictionaries but there's no way to edit the inbuilt dictionary, only the personal ones. And I have not added this word "abd" to it.
 
oman0123
Old
#5  
oman0123's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 302
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardW1992 View Post
I don't have an issue with Thou popping up in place of You. But instead nearly everytime I type the word "and" it replaces it with "abd"

wtf does abd even commonly stand for?

I've tried checking the default keyboard settings and dictionaries but there's no way to edit the inbuilt dictionary, only the personal ones. And I have not added this word "abd" to it.
Uhhhh....

Android Debug Bridge? Lol

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
 
RichardW1992
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by oman0123 View Post
Uhhhh....

Android Debug Bridge? Lol

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
I think you will find that is ADB!
 
Skizzy034
Old
#7  
Skizzy034's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 999
Posts: 4,941
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Amsterdam, NY
It's the new keyboard update. It's crap when it comes to auto correct.

Sent from my LG-D851
*NOTE* I'll never recommend using a toolkit to root your device because if you don't know how to root your phone manually, you shouldn't be rooting your phone. -KidCarter93

My Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/sgutowski77
 
Teio
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 347
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Maybe start swiping from Y instead of T?

Regarding abd, swipe from A to N instead of B....

Problem solved, it is a matter of swiping correctly, the same would happen in swiftkey if you swipe the same way...
LG G3!!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more

Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more