App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

Taking photo while shooting video?

6th July 2014, 08:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Can any body help? Can't seem to figure out how to take pics while recording a video. I had to result to looking through the manual (hangs head shame) it says to press the camera icon but I don't have one in video mode?

Was hoping to use this afternoon when some guys that should be cycling in France come past my neck of the woods.
Last edited by launty72; 6th July 2014 at 08:20 AM. Reason: spelling
6th July 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #2  
dondavis007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
962 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
There is a camerabutton on the left when taking videos, if you have chooses to see the buttons by touching the "tree dots" up in the right upper corner.
The Following User Says Thank You to dondavis007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2014, 11:37 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by dondavis007

There is a camerabutton on the left when taking videos, if you have chooses to see the buttons by touching the "tree dots" up in the right upper corner.

I only have the 3 dots in camera mode, as soon as I hit the video button it starts recording and the dots disappear?
6th July 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #4  
dondavis007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
962 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Three dots just for getting the buttons to apperar, it's like two different modes. The uber simple mode with no,buttons and the normal with buttons. When you have booth camera and video button they should not go away?

I'll try to get a screen dump when,I get back home.
Last edited by dondavis007; 6th July 2014 at 02:48 PM.
15th July 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 28
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Has anyone confirmed that this works? Is it possible that this mode is disabled when shooting 4k video? Thanks!
15th July 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Not Too Far
Thanks Meter: 50
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
There is a separate camera button that appears while recording the video. However its only available in 1080p and low, not available in UHD mode.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to enaybee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 16
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by enaybee

There is a separate camera button that appears while recording the video. However its only available in 1080p and low, not available in UHD mode.

Not available in UHD is disappointing. Even if the pics were of a lower quality I could live with that, but to make it not available at all is odd.
4th September 2014, 11:07 PM   |  #8  
573W1E's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newport
Thanks Meter: 9
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Yeah, it's not available when taking 4K video. But hey ho, I usually find if I want a picture during a 4K video, I will use the snapshot feature in VLC to grab a frame from the video afterwards. The res may not be as high as 10 or 13MP, but I'm coming from a HTC One so it's still a lot better than that

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank