FORUMS

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Taking photo while shooting video?

6th July 2014, 08:14 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Can any body help? Can't seem to figure out how to take pics while recording a video. I had to result to looking through the manual (hangs head shame) it says to press the camera icon but I don't have one in video mode?

Was hoping to use this afternoon when some guys that should be cycling in France come past my neck of the woods.
Last edited by launty72; 6th July 2014 at 08:20 AM. Reason: spelling
 
 
6th July 2014, 10:51 AM |#2  
dondavis007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
There is a camerabutton on the left when taking videos, if you have chooses to see the buttons by touching the "tree dots" up in the right upper corner.
The Following User Says Thank You to dondavis007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2014, 11:37 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dondavis007

There is a camerabutton on the left when taking videos, if you have chooses to see the buttons by touching the "tree dots" up in the right upper corner.

I only have the 3 dots in camera mode, as soon as I hit the video button it starts recording and the dots disappear?
6th July 2014, 02:46 PM |#4  
dondavis007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
Three dots just for getting the buttons to apperar, it's like two different modes. The uber simple mode with no,buttons and the normal with buttons. When you have booth camera and video button they should not go away?

I'll try to get a screen dump when,I get back home.
Last edited by dondavis007; 6th July 2014 at 02:48 PM.
15th July 2014, 05:29 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Has anyone confirmed that this works? Is it possible that this mode is disabled when shooting 4k video? Thanks!
15th July 2014, 06:46 PM |#6  
enaybee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Not Too Far
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
There is a separate camera button that appears while recording the video. However its only available in 1080p and low, not available in UHD mode.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to enaybee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2014, 10:25 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by enaybee

There is a separate camera button that appears while recording the video. However its only available in 1080p and low, not available in UHD mode.

Not available in UHD is disappointing. Even if the pics were of a lower quality I could live with that, but to make it not available at all is odd.
4th September 2014, 11:07 PM |#8  
573W1E's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newport
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Yeah, it's not available when taking 4K video. But hey ho, I usually find if I want a picture during a 4K video, I will use the snapshot feature in VLC to grab a frame from the video afterwards. The res may not be as high as 10 or 13MP, but I'm coming from a HTC One so it's still a lot better than that
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank