Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Facebook app force closes frequently

OP sn0warmy

15th July 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #1  
sn0warmy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 893
 
2,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I've had my G3 for 2 days now. It is not yet rooted or tweaked aside from available options within the stock ROM. Everything seems to be working perfectly except Facebook. It works about half the time. but the other half it will open, freeze for a second, then just close. I've attempted to reboot the phone as well as even uninstalling/reinstalling the app to see if it solves it but it continues to happen.

My guess is that the app is having an issue with the extremely high display resolution. But if that were true I'd imagine other apps would be experiencing similar problems.

Any ideas?
15th July 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #2  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 232
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
that's odd, facebook has been stable for me
15th July 2014, 11:09 PM   |  #3  
sn0warmy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 893
 
2,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Now I can't even get facebook to open. it just freezes and hangs there. Hitting the home button a few times finally gets it back tot he homescreen to kill the app but it happens again every time.
16th July 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #4  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 232
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
what version are you using? mine is 14.0.0.0.11
16th July 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #5  
sn0warmy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 893
 
2,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
14.0.0.0.11

What's funny is I just switched from DALVIK to ART. Not only is my phone SIGNIFICANTLY snappier now, but Facebook is now working flawlessly.


...of topic

For those looking to eliminate all lag:
1) Go to Settings / Developer Options / Select Runtime then select "Use ART" and approve the change. The phone will reboot and optimize your apps (which takes a few minutes) but it's well worth it.

2) Go to Settings / Developer Options and change "Window animation scale", "Transition animation scale" and "Animator duration scale" all down from 1x to .5x

After doing both of these my G3 now feels as snappy as my completely optimized Nexus 5 was.
Last edited by sn0warmy; 16th July 2014 at 12:52 AM.
25th September 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #6  
bdogan1912's Avatar
Member
Flag İzmir
Thanks Meter: 38
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn0warmy

I've had my G3 for 2 days now. It is not yet rooted or tweaked aside from available options within the stock ROM. Everything seems to be working perfectly except Facebook. It works about half the time. but the other half it will open, freeze for a second, then just close. I've attempted to reboot the phone as well as even uninstalling/reinstalling the app to see if it solves it but it continues to happen.

My guess is that the app is having an issue with the extremely high display resolution. But if that were true I'd imagine other apps would be experiencing similar problems.

Any ideas?

If you BETA TESTER of facebook android app it can possible. I'm on beta stage of app that i receiving continuously updates for app. For now if i touch or tap to see comments app shutdowns. It's only allowing me likes. In prev. beta versions it wasn't allowed to browse albums of pages or friends. This is common problem on beta app. Otherwise the only way is seems to mail dev. team.
25th September 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #7  
sn0warmy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 893
 
2,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Thanks for the response. Since posting this thread I've actually gone back to my Nexus 5 and sold the G3. I was running into the same force close issue with facebook on the Nexus 5. I opted out of beta and now just use the stable version of the app and have no issues.

And for anyone wondering why I switched back. I realized after about 2 months of use that I just wasn't going to get used to the 5.5" screen. It's simply too big for me. That and lack of development support really had me missing my Nexus 5.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes