FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[SystemFontReplacement] Roboto Condensed

177 posts
Thanks Meter: 84
 
By xploitnt, Senior Member on 25th July 2014, 04:24 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
28th July 2014, 05:58 PM |#31  
cc16177's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 210
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nic85

I thought I find it in that app... how can I flash it after found?

When you search for it online there's a zip file you can download. It will contain the different versions of that font.

Unzip the folder, pick the one you want, and then using the iFont app you can install it.

Once it's installed, you need to "turn it into an APK" and that allows you to then install and apply for your system wide font.

Good luck
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cc16177 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
29th July 2014, 12:28 AM |#32  
uicnren's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc16177

When you search for it online there's a zip file you can download. It will contain the different versions of that font.

Unzip the folder, pick the one you want, and then using the iFont app you can install it.

Once it's installed, you need to "turn it into an APK" and that allows you to then install and apply for your system wide font.

Good luck

huh?

You only need iFont to install it, not need to convert it to anything.

iFont will install the .tff file as a system font for you.

Simply follow the instructions in iFont.
29th July 2014, 12:31 AM |#33  
cc16177's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 210
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uicnren

huh?

You only need iFont to install it, not need to convert it to anything.

iFont will install the .tff file as a system font for you.

Simply follow the instructions in iFont.

I used ifont and I still had to unzip the file and then turn it into an APK using ifont to install it.
29th July 2014, 02:21 AM |#34  
Skizzy034's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,061
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ced357

Yes but u need to be rooted ? Or not ?

Sent from my LG-D855 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes rooted.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th July 2014, 03:37 AM |#35  
shawnten's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Yorktown
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
So if I'm rooted but have no custom recover there is no way to get this font installed

Sent from my VS985 4G using XDA Premium HD app
29th July 2014, 07:17 AM |#36  
Skizzy034's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,061
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnten

So if I'm rooted but have no custom recover there is no way to get this font installed

Sent from my VS985 4G using XDA Premium HD app

Yes, use a root file browser. Rom Toolbox Pro is my favorite.

Sent from my LG-D851 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th July 2014, 08:13 AM |#37  
daleski75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 3,579
 
More
I used CWM recovery to flash some fonts from here and they all worked fine.

http://www.androidpixel.com/2014/01/...e-nexus-5.html

The only issue is that you can lose root due to the nature of the CWM recovery when rebooting the phone.
29th July 2014, 05:53 PM |#38  
xploitnt's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnten

So if I'm rooted but have no custom recover there is no way to get this font installed

Sent from my VS985 4G using XDA Premium HD app

you can download the file and open it with 7-zip and pull the fonts out and push them to your system/fonts folder using root browser or something of the sort, and it should do the trick
The Following User Says Thank You to xploitnt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2014, 04:10 AM |#39  
LeoRex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leominster MA
Thanks Meter: 228
 
Donate to Me
More
Crazy thing is that the Roboto font is in there... LG didn't remove it, they just masked it out for some reason.
2nd August 2014, 07:14 AM |#40  
Pfeffernuss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wassenaar
Thanks Meter: 1,251
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoRex

Crazy thing is that the Roboto font is in there... LG didn't remove it, they just masked it out for some reason.

No, it's called Roboto in /system/app but it is NewSansGothic. You can name any font you want Roboto-Regular.ttf and it will be the default font. I also replaced it with a custom font but it's still called Roboto-Regular,ttf in that directory
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
condensed, font, roboto
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes